I Hope There are Blueberries in Heaven!

Standard

 

Picking a Blueberry Patch in the Mountains of West Virginia

Picking a Blueberry Patch in the Mountains of West Virginia (Berries with a Beautiful View!)

I have always looked forward to picking wild blueberries in the mountains of West Virginia. I first got hooked years ago when my boyfriend-turned-fiancé and now husband of 26 years took me to meet his grandmother, “Grams.”

The evening walk with Grams and Grams’ dear friend Barb included blueberry picking and girl talk. When Gram’s arthritis kept her from long walks and stooping over to pick berries, it was just Barb and I. And now and then, my two boys would join us. After Gram’s death, we spent our West Virginia vacations with Barb and I kept picking berries.

In good years, I gathered enough berries to make a batch of jam. One year, we celebrated my youngest son’s birthday with a blueberry pie. The family favorite was always Grams’ recipe for pancakes with blueberries thrown in. I thought we would pick blueberries forever. For Barb was my scout to find the berry patches and to let us know when to plan our yearly visit in order to fill my freezer with berries. But Barb died suddenly and I lost my best blueberry-picking buddy ever.

A couple years passed and the desire to pick berries lingered and grew. This year while on vacation, I was determined to find blueberries and to start a new tradition of berry-picking with my daughter-in-law. It didn’t happen. Wrong time of the summer. Wrong place.

On the next to last day of vacation after the kids left, my consolation was a hike in Dolly Sods with a beautiful view of Canaan Valley. And a surprise. Ripe blueberries along the trail. A trail I was not familiar with. A trail that I have never ventured on before. My heart swelled with joy at the sight. Enough berries to eat out of hand. Enough berries to take home and make Grams’ blueberry pancakes.

I smiled at my taste of blueberry heaven. Then my eyes welled up. It wasn’t just about that blueberry goodness. I missed Grams. I missed Barb. I missed the time that has gone by so fast. It was about the good memories. It was about the connection with those I loved and lost. It was all about the feeling that blueberry-picking evokes in me: love and longing. I hope there are blueberries in heaven for my berry-picking buddies are waiting for me.

 

Ezekiel 47:12

Fruit trees of all kinds will grow on both banks of the river. Their leaves will not wither, nor will their fruit fail. Every month they will bear, because the water from the sanctuary flows to them. Their fruit will serve for food and their leaves for healing.

 

Revelation 22:1-2

Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, as clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb down the middle of the great street of the city. On each side of the river stood the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, yielding its fruit every month. And the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations.

 

14 thoughts on “I Hope There are Blueberries in Heaven!

  1. Anonymous

    It’s wonderful how many heart-felt things are packed into those simple blueberries: Cherished memories and rituals, and the establishment of a new tradition with your daughter-in-law. I don’t think I’ll ever look at a blueberry again without thinking of your story.

    Like

  2. Beautiful remembrances Debbie of your friends but sorry we do not eat in Heaven, no Blueberry picking as we see confirmed in the Scripture below but we will not miss it out, our time will be very full, no such thing as boredom in Heaven, that is of the flesh, Wow no cooking or washing up either.

    1 Corinthians 6:12-14 Foods for the stomach and the stomach for foods, but God will destroy both it and them. N.K.J.V

    Isaiah 65 17 For, behold, I create new Heavens and a new earth: and the former shall not be remembered, nor come into mind.

    In Revelation 22:1-2 God is talking about Spiritual Fruit and yes we will be full and no longer wanting or suffering from life’s afflictions, all taken away by God’s Leaves of Love and we will remember them no more , His Truth planted in our heart brings forth much good Fruit. Jesus is The Living Water that refreshes us.

    I long for the Spiritual Revival that is Prophesied, don’t you Debbie?

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Anne, Thank you for making the point clear that we won’t be eating in heaven. I used this analogy because blueberry picking was always my “excuse” to visit Grams and Barbs and spend time with them! I do love the picture of the tree of life bearing twelve crops of fruit which got me thinking about blueberries. (By the way, I totally agree about all the work associated with eating from shopping, preparing, serving to cleaning up! :)) Another thought to consider, we “could” eat in heaven as Jesus in His resurrected body ate fish with the disciples! (Luke 24:41-42)

      Like

  3. If you read the Scripture I shared in context Debbie with others, we will be like the Angels, our resurrected bodies won’t need earthly food, besides we will have no stomach, Hmmmm no dieting either Lol

    Did Jesus eat the fish? does it say so in the Scriptures, what about those He met on the road to Emmaus in both accounts He gave it to them to eat it does not say He ate.

    Blessings – Anne

    Like

    • Anne, Isn’t it good to dig deeper into the Scriptures?!!!

      Luke 24:40-43 from the NIV shares, “When he had said this, he showed them his hands and feet. And while they still did not believe it because of joy and amazement, he asked them, “Do you have anything to eat?” They gave him a piece of broiled fish, and he took it and ate it in their presence.”

      In Luke 24:30 (with the travelers on the road to Emmaus) and John 21:13 (disciples were out fishing), Jesus broke bread, gave thanks and gave fish to the disciples. The wording is different for the event in Luke 24:43, “and ate it in their presence.”

      Like

  4. Yes I knew this Scripture Debbie but the correct Translation is below, why is it important?

    And while they yet believed not for joy, and wondered, He said unto them, Have ye here any meat? And they gave Him a piece of a broiled fish and of an honeycomb. And He took it and did eat before them. Luke 24:41-43 (KJV)

    Blessings – Anne

    Like

    • Anne,

      I had checked out other translations before replying yesterday and saw that Jesus also ate honeycomb. Eating the honeycomb was the new part to me. Thank you for sharing this because it gives even more meaning to all the Proverbs and Psalms passages that mention honeycomb (honey.) I love seeing connections to the Old Testament down to the smallest of details!

      I am off to church soon for another lesson in Scriptures. 🙂 I am glad to see that you are back online (a new computer?) and that hopefully your computer troubles are behind you.

      May you be overwhelmed by God’s blessings today!

      Like

  5. I’m still using my Old Laptop Debbie but it is doing the Job even if it’s very noisy and cuts in and out all the time and so is very slow.

    Yes I’m pleased you recognized that some of the Scripture has been deleted in other Translations and this is not just with Honeycomb but as you wisely noted the Psalms and other Scriptures confirm it is relevant and this is why we have error today, Mankind use their own fleshy wisdom, reasoning and logic or other peoples instead of Trusting in what God has said to us.

    But to be honest Debbie I was very confused once and even shared error believing it was True but God helped me, you may remember what we shared about on the link below, it’s not too late for everyone to recognize their error and repent, even Cult Members.

    Confusion- http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2014/06/16/my-battle-with-confusion/

    God tells us that in regard to us His Children He will…..

    1 Corinthians 6:12-14 Foods for the stomach and the stomach for foods but God will destroy both it and them. N.K.J.V

    We will not eat earthly food in Heaven Debbie.

    Blessings – Anne.

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

