Time to Turn Back?

Standard
Looking for blueberries in the north section of Dolly Sods Wilderness Area

Looking for blueberries in the north section of Dolly Sods Wilderness Area.

Blueberries: the day of hiking in Dolly Sods was all about the blueberries. Two miles into the hike, I was starting to get nervous about finding berries. We passed the patches that provided last year’s bounty of berries to take home. (See that post titled I Hope There are Blueberries in Heaven by clicking here.) This year, the same patches were not hopeful as the berries were sparse and past their prime. It felt like we were looking in the wrong place. Was it time to turn back?

Just when my answer became a yes to turn back, we met some fellow hikers. Our containers and meandering off the trail identified us as blueberry-pickers. The hikers cheerily informed us that we were very close to a great patch of plentiful blueberries. Their encouragement pointed us in the right direction. Thank goodness we held out hope and did not turn back too soon.

Sometimes we turn back too soon in our faith in response to our circumstances or expectations. Maybe we think we are on the wrong path because we aren’t experiencing the blessings. Or we are sure something better has to be elsewhere. Or we get discouraged because we no longer have the vision in front of us. Maybe we are simply tired of walking.

Those are the times that we need to push forward in faith, expecting good things around the next bend of the path. May the encouragement of others refine our desire to continue following God. Let’s remain committed to wherever God is leading so we can bask in His presence.

 

Ruth 1:16

But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.

 

Exodus 13:21-22

By day the LORD went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so that they could travel by day or night. Neither the pillar of cloud by day nor the pillar of fire by night left its place in front of the people.

 

7 thoughts on “Time to Turn Back?

    • Annie, I had not listened to this song for a long time. It has always been a favorite. Whether we shout, sing, whisper, cry or moan: God hears our praises! (I am thinking your comment needed approval because of the link in it. Who knows… grrr! But I got it and now it is shared!)

      As for sharing blueberries, I make my husband’s grandma’s recipe for blueberry pancakes for my grown boys and their wife/fiance. I wish I had enough berries to make jam or pie. Maybe next year!

      Like

  1. It has nothing to do with the Link Debbie, I often leave them on my Blogging friends Messages , what did WordPress say was causing my comments to be Moderated when your Settings do not say to do this ? if your Settings did than all your comments would be Moderated,

    Something I found though when I was first started Blogging and having this problem too with some Comments, was that someone had put words in my settings that caused Comments to be moderated such as Christian and Love and with others their Name or e-mail link, perhaps you need to check to see if they have done the same with your Settings in regards to my Comments, if not you will need to contact WordPress again and tell them it is still happening.

    Yes I also agree with you Debbie it is not the Volume but our Heart sound that God listens too, as I shared about on your Apple Post Message, who is motivating us.

    Blessings – Anne.

    Like

  2. So often, I find there is joy in the journey, and unexpected pleasures on the way to my own version of the promised land. God has something for us at every turn and bend in the road. Sometimes he modifies our paths. But press on we must.

    Like

    • When it comes faith, it is about the destination (heaven) AND the journey to get there including those we meet along the way! I have learned to enjoy the unexpected pleasures along the way as God conforms my vision to His!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

