Garage Sale Blessings

Standard

We hosted a garage sale this spring. Making some extra money is great motivation to sort, clean, and pass on stuff that we no longer need or have a place for in our house. The garage sale ended up being a lot of work for very little money.

I wasn’t surprised, nor was I upset. Past experiences from garage sales over many years have taught me to manage expectations. Besides, my faith has introduced new expectations as God provides a different perspective. It is less about the sales and more about the blessings. I have learned to expect God to reveal unexpected blessings through the garage sale. I pray for just the right people to come along. Excitement builds as I look for God to share His answers to my prayers.

The very first person on the very first day of the sale bought all my furniture odds and ends. The bulky stuff was gone! A group of construction workers took our old bathroom mirror, a “monstrosity” that measured five feet long by three feet high. The problem of how to properly dispose of the mirror was solved.

The blessings weren’t just for me. On the second day, sales and people were sparse. My husband suggested that we close early. I decided against it because we had advertised certain hours. Near the end of the day, a neighbor down the street stopped by. We had waved to each other in the past as I retrieved our mail, but we had never engaged in a conversation.

She browsed the sale and then picked up a brochure for Cancer Hope, the ministry that I am involved with. A very long conversation ensued as we shared our hearts and our faith. My neighbor concluded, “This is why God had me stop at your garage sale.” In that moment, I knew the reason why God prompted me to keep the garage sale open all day.

After the sale, metal shelves and miscellaneous items were given to good friends. The wife commented, “It feels like Christmas!” The rest of the stuff was sorted, boxed up and labelled with the name of the charity to receive it. The household goods would go to a charity that serves homeless families by helping them get back on their feet and into their own homes.

Trinkets, decorations and costume jewelry were designated for the nursing home. Early the next week, I called to confirm that the nursing home could use my donation. The activities director replied that the items would be perfect for their auction where the residents bid on items with fake money. As more evidence of God’s blessings in the perfect timing: the auction was scheduled for three days later.

Was this year’s garage sale a success? It depends on your perspective. From a worldly standpoint, the answer is no. I had too much stuff left over and not much money earned. From a heavenly perspective, the garage sale was simply the means for blessings to flow. Here’s my answer: I have a little extra cash in my pocket and my heart is undeniably full!

John 1:16

From the fullness of his grace we have all received one blessing after another. 

 2 Corinthians 9:12

This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of God’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God.

 

6 thoughts on “Garage Sale Blessings

  1. Debbie,
    This is one of my favorite posts. I count so many blessings that the Lord sent your way — and the way of so many others. How touching: “This is why God had me stop at your garage sale,” regarding the neighbor learning about Cancer Hope. Life is a joy when we look for and expect to be blessed and to be helpers in allowing God to bless others through you. Donna

    Like

    • Donna, There are so many ways that we can bless others. It can be through our time, our money, our love, etc. Your blog posts every week are a blessing to many as you share how God reveals new blessings in your life!

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing about your Garage Sales Debbie, I’m going to have one soon it will be my first although I have been to a few.

    What did you find people were mostly interested in?

    I Love how you were blessed and blessed others Debbie, as the Scripture below confirms, what we do for others we are doing for Jesus and what we withhold from them is denying Him our good will too, not that we have to make ourselves help others when they are in real need, we will want to help them.

    Matthew 25 : 31 -45 When the Son of man shall come in His glory and all the Holy Angels with Him, then shall He sit upon the Throne of His glory. And before Him shall be gathered all Nations and He shall separate them one from another as a shepherd divideth his sheep from the goats. And He shall set the sheep on His right hand but the goats on the left…..

    Then shall the King say unto them on His right hand; Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was an hungred and ye gave me meat, I was thirsty and ye gave me drink, I was a stranger and ye took me in. Naked, and ye clothed me, I was sick and ye visited me, I was in Prison and ye came unto me. Then shall the Righteous answer Him saying; Lord when saw we thee an hungred and fed thee? or thirsty and gave thee drink? When saw we thee a stranger and took thee in? or naked and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick or in prison and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren ye have done it unto me…….

    Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not. Then shall they also answer Him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, or athirst, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto Thee?Then shall He answer them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me. And these shall go away into everlasting punishment but the Righteous into Life Eternal.(KJV)

    1 John 3:16-18 Hereby perceive we the Love of God, because He laid down His life for us and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren. But whoso hath this world’s good and seeth his brother have need and shutteth up his bowels of compassion from him how dwelleth the Love of God in him? My little children let us not Love in word, neither in tongue but in Deed and in Truth.(KJV)

    Christian Love and Blessings – Annie.

    Like

    • Each garage sale is different, but this time, people were interested in the furniture (sofa table, end table, sports caddy.), odds and ends from the garage and my mother-in-law’s costume jewelry. I have to admit, I have fun “meeting” people, even though I am not an extrovert.

      I wish you will with your garage sale and keep us posted on the move and settling in!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

