Have You Made the Call Yet?

Standard
a-great-message

“He must increase, but I must decrease.”

I have a dear friend with family in the boonies of Georgia. She has shared the challenges of using her cell phone while visiting. Inside the house, she has to open a certain window and lean out to make the call. It is not much better outside as there is only one spot where she can stand and talk. If she steps outside that zone, the call is dropped.

Sometimes our communication with God can feel like finding cell phone reception in a holler. We can’t connect. We think we have to jump through hoops to get through to God. If we are lucky enough to connect, we worry about losing that fragile connection.

We wonder if God is even listening because oftentimes He can be silent. Or perhaps we can’t hear God because of all the static noise in our lives. I can’t hear God when my focus is on me. I can barely hear God when I’m too busy to pray or spend time in His word. Truth be told, any connection problems I have with God are always on my end of things.

The good news is that we already have God’s attention. He is present in our everyday life in the midst of our details. Improving communication with God is summed up on a sign outside a small West Virginia church. “He must increase, but I must decrease.”

To know God, He must increase in my life. To hear God, He must increase in my life. To live for God, He must increase in my life. There is only one thing I have to do: I must decrease. This is the hoop to jump through and the zone to be in to improve my connection with God. It may feel awkward at first and it can look different from person to person.

Closeness with God doesn’t depend on our circumstances. The Holy Spirit provides clarity in communication with God that assures us of a solid connection. There is real excitement and anticipation in hearing God’s voice. We can call on God with confidence that He answers while we are still speaking.

Has it been a while since you talked to God? Pick up your Bible and make the call. God is standing by waiting for you. God wants to increase in your life! Maybe the most important question today is, “Why haven’t you made the call yet?”

Isaiah 65:24 (NLT)

I will answer them before they even call to me. While they are still talking about their needs, I will go ahead and answer their prayers!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Have You Made the Call Yet?

  1. That’s one of my favorite scriptures, Debbie. The other day I heard a Moody Radio sermon where the pastor referenced this topic of feeling as though we aren’t hearing God or He isn’t listening. The pastor said think of where the teacher is during a test. The teacher isn’t talking but is walking up and down the aisle, watching, listening, and fully aware of the test going on in the classroom. Something to think about … as are your posts.

    Like

    • Donna, you can actually pick ONE favorite Scripture?!!! I think my favorite verse changes every day. Thanks for sharing the analogy. To tag on to it: the teacher is available for clarification and questions about the test! Taking the test is always about learning. There is success in what we know and challenges in areas of weakness.

      Like

  2. Jimmy Rogers

    I was delighted to see you in my emails this morning. I’d read that you were/are and engineer but it was only this morning I had finally had an appreciation of how that education structures and individual for life. Example is a very good friend “Walt” who is also afflicted by an engineering degree. I’ve got enough problems with my own obsessive compulsive behavior. We are both retired and Master Gardeners. Task separately to build a portable teaching tool for use in demonstrating raised beds he and I went about our tasks unknowing of the others effort. Oh, your use of the word “Boonies” to describe Georgia’s awesome breath taking rural areas with often not even a house or barn in sight got me here, just so you know. The word “portable” to Walt meant two grown men can carry it one piece at a time, is pocket drilled screwed construction, stained wood, shiny hardware made for a work of art. Mine, well made of very light but durable redwood 4×6 timbers as natural as the environment it will be located in, barn timber joinery construction with no hardware and easily carried by one person. Walts no doubt a work of art that should be in a museum while mine…well used for demonstration purposes. I think words we use so often loose the intended image and our own interpretation inserted. Like ‘portable’ or, yes ‘Boonie’s’. I enjoy your blog and always look forward to reading it.

    Like

    • Jimmy… So nice to “meet” you through our mutual friend Margaret. I’m sure she told you that she gave me the idea for this post. I am more familiar with the breathtaking beauty of the “boonies” in West Virginia and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I haven’t spent much time in Georgia as we don’t have any family there. I am more at home in the boonies than in the big city!

      Engineers are a unique bunch, aren’t they? Walt could probably build a house on his raised bed, huh?!!! Engineering is a way of thinking. For example, I take it into the kitchen when I cook. I write down notes about the process, ingredients, tips, etc., so that I can consistently repeat and continually improve the recipe!

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

  3. A very good message Donna with a uplifting challenge, God Tests us by Giving us opportunities to walk in The Fruit of the Spirit with His empowering , we know of course Satan Tests us with evil as the Scripture below confirms but we Ask, Seek and Knock and when we seek God with all our Heart we will find Him.

    James 1:12-14 Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the Crown of Life, which the Lord hath promised to them that Love Him. Let no Man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed.

    Christian Love Always – Annie.

    Like

    • Anne… God gives us the answer for every test in our lives! “When I called, you answered me; you made me bold and stouthearted.” (Psalm 138:3) We can trust God to work through our trials and temptations to draw us closer to Him. As always, thanks for sharing your wisdom!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

