Is The Door Really Locked Shut?

Standard

A friend at church was assigned a different office along with added responsibilities. I promised to stop by and check out her new location. It took me weeks to finally find her. The doors were always locked or so I thought.

My friend worked in a section of the church where I was unfamiliar with the layout. I had to ask for directions to find the general area of her office. She works part-time and I tried to visit on her off days. I learned her schedule and the best times to stop in. Even though I knew where to go and when to go, there was still one big stumbling block: the doors.

I tried to turn a door knob and met only resistance. I pushed on another door and it refused to budge. The doors were always locked. Signs during worship service reminded me that the doors remained locked. In sharing my frustration and the numerous attempts to visit, my friend reassured me that I could go through the doors to reach her.

The solution was as simple as pushing on the (literal) right door of the double doors that opened up to the hallway access. I had tried only the left door which is always locked. My mindset told me that the right door also must be locked because that had been my experience with the other doors.

My understanding and experiences confirmed my thinking that the doors were always locked. Eventually, my mindset believed that I could not get past those doors to visit my friend. How often does this happen in our spiritual walk?

We know where we want to go, but a stumbling block prevents our forward progress. We see closed doors and walk away feeling dejected. Perhaps we feel the nudges and encouragement to enter new territory, but we meet resistance along the way. Or our circumstances don’t budge and we remain stuck in our current place.

Do we seek out God’s timing? God gives us signs, but are we paying close enough attention? Do we interpret the signs with our understanding or do we examine signs through the lens of God’s word? Sometimes our mindset closes out God’s possibilities that are within our reach. Oftentimes, I need to think bigger!

We are to persevere which means to keep asking, keep pushing, and keep trying. Let’s not be deterred from God’s best. We can tend to view doors as something that keeps us out. God gives us open and closed doors to guide us. What are you waiting for? See what is on the other side of God’s door for your life!

Revelation 3:20

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

Luke 11:9-10

“So I say to you; Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”

 

 

8 thoughts on “Is The Door Really Locked Shut?

    • Yes, our preconceived ideas can get in the way because we do not think like God! Romans 11:33 declares “Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable his judgments, and his paths beyond tracing out!”

      Thanks for stopping by to comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A gift of a piece of writing from you that helps me today:

    Do we seek out God’s timing? God gives us signs, but are we paying close enough attention? Do we interpret the signs with our understanding or do we examine signs through the lens of God’s word? Sometimes our mindset closes out God’s possibilities that are within our reach. Oftentimes, I need to think bigger!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Ginene, I am so glad that God used my embarrassing “senior moments” (of not checking ALL the doors) to speak to you!

      God focuses on the possibilities, we tend to focus on the impossibilities, don’t we?

      I look forward to your posts celebrating the fall season!

      Like

    • I love how God speaks to us through our experiences and that which we use every day: doors!

      God has opened many “doors” for you and as you friend, it has been fun to see God’s possibilities for you!

      Like

  2. Very True Debbie and once again I love your allegory, it’s True though that behind every closed door there is something that awaits us, behind some we will know what to expect but with some we won’t, Thankfully we always know with God that what awaits us will never be evil.

    But what if it was like your door Debbie and it can’t be opened, then perhaps we are not meant too enter, this of course was not your situation, you had the wrong door but later found the right door, some never do they just give up and they never knock.

    Persevere yes! when we ask according to God’s will we receive, we don’t need to keep asking only for what we haven’t asked for and having received we Thank God and for His many Blessings too.

    Christian Love and Blessings – Anne.

    Like

    • Annie, as you shared, God gives us open and closed doors. Sometimes those closed doors will open later in God’s timing. And open doors can close due to disobedience on our part.

      I remember some opportunities I said “no” to out of fear. Those opportunities have not come back around. The bottom line is that I don’t want to miss out on the blessings that God has for me!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

