God Moments Can Become God Stories

Standard

I knew it was going to be a busy week. I was still learning the ropes in my new volunteer position. The ministry had finished their annual fundraiser and there was a flurry of activity to follow up on. In addition, we were headed out-of-town to visit my in-laws.

That day I was a woman on a mission with a long to-do list. If I adhered to my schedule, I would cross everything off my list and be home to make a nice dinner for my husband. I was on-time with my self-declared agenda until I dropped off information at the church’s welcome desk.

That’s when my plans abruptly changed. The person behind the desk commented, “Oh good, I was looking for those ministry forms because my friend is battling cancer.” As a cancer survivor and the administrative leader of a ministry that supports cancer survivors, I recognized the lead-in to a lengthy and emotional cancer story.

I am not proud to admit that in my mind, the flesh reaction was, “I don’t have time for this. I am on a schedule with my things to accomplish.” Immediately, I heard the Holy Spirit’s rebuttal in my soul, “This is why you are here today. Take a breath, slow down, and be present for this person.”

I recognized my God moment. The Holy Spirit only gives perfect advice. There was no doubt about what was at the top of my to-do list. I listened intently to the person’s cancer story, offered encouragement, and gave tips for enrolling her friend in the ministry.

Once I had shared the practical, I turned to the most important aspect of my God moment. I offered to pray. We prayed for her friend, for her, their friendship, and the circumstances of this particular cancer story. I walked away from that God moment encouraged by God’s blessings in my day.

God provides the opportunities to remind us that our God moments can become our God stories. In reality, it is even bigger than that in God’s kingdom. Obedience to the Holy Spirit’s nudges opens the floodgates for blessings to flow. God’s beautiful intervention insures that our God moments can become part of someone else’s God story!

Psalm 42:10

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Isaiah 66:14

When you see this, your heart will rejoice and you will flourish like grass; the hand of the LORD will be made known to his servants, but his fury will be shown to his foes.

 

8 thoughts on “God Moments Can Become God Stories

  1. I loved that you wrote, “God provides the moments to remind us that our God moments can become our God stories.” It’s so true, and His timing is not ours so we never know when He has something to put our our to-do list that we didn’t see coming! Nice story, Debbie!

    Like

    • God “writes” much better endings to our stories than we ever could hope to do! Coming from my favorite home-town career journalist, your words mean a lot to me!

      Like

  2. Debbie, how wonderful that you were able to switch gears and be present for her. It’s also very odd–very strange–that right before I sat down to read blogs I had the sense that I was just going through the motions, trying to cross things off my list (gardening, read blogs, do township work, help my husband, clean house) and there was a nagging sense that I should just sit down, drink tea and be still. And here was your post! OK, turning off the computer for a while anyway to connect with a deeper wider essence now. Thank you…

    Like

    • You blog often about being still with a purpose! I love God’s timing to remind us of what is important in life!

      Perhaps you are like me where it is harder to be still than to keep busy and get things accomplished. Being still takes more energy for me.

      Yesterday, there was time between a wedding ceremony and reception. We went to a park and spent a couple of hours just sitting and reading. I don’t don’t do that enough. It was a lovely mid-afternoon time of being still!

      Like

  3. Ron has just been told he now has Prostrate Cancer Debbie, and so much is happening in my life too that causes fear and feelings of insecurity but your God moment reminded me I’m not alone and that the Battle is His, you may remember God reminded me in the Storm that He would be with me all the way and so I’m holding on to the Scripture and Song below that He gave me.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    I would very much value your prayers Debbie for both of us.

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Annie, I am so sorry to hear that Ron has prostate cancer. If you were in the U.S., I would have loved to sign him up for support through the cancer ministry that I am involved with. I haven’t spent much time on WP and hence my really slow response.

      I am praying for you and Ron. What comes to mind is “take heart.” Psalm 27:13-14 – “I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait for the LORD: be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.” Psalm 31:24 – “Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD.” John 16:33 – “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

      Take heart and remain close to God’s heart for Jesus has overcome for you!
      Prayers and Hugs sent your way!

      Like

    • I love my “paper” including my to-do lists! (We had talked previously about holding a newspaper in our hand and being old-school. :)) However, the feeling of connecting with someone and experiencing blessings is far better than the sense of accomplishment through a piece of paper.

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

