Chance Connections

Standard

It caught me off-guard. I was in a paper store attending a free “Make It, Take It” card-making session. One of the employees was helping the teacher at the table where I was seated. As the employee’s hands moved, her ring finger caught my attention.

I asked to see her wedding ring up-close. Sure enough, her ring brought back memories. My fiancé (now husband) included me when it was time to go jewelry-shopping. I was instantly drawn to an engagement ring with a single diamond and a matching wedding band with a chip diamond. The uniqueness of the rings’ finish hooked me. The rings have a split design with contrasting brushed and polished finishes. I had not seen another ring like it in twenty-eight years until that day at the paper store.

I just had to know more about her wedding ring story. We compared notes like giddy high school girls showing off their boyfriends’ class rings that they had received. We were married a year apart in neighboring states. She had a different style of wedding band while mine was bought as part of a set. It was a fun connection in an otherwise typical day. I walked out of the store smiling at this chance connection that God wove together.

For a moment, I thought that maybe God had given me a glimpse of heaven. We won’t meet a stranger in heaven because we will discover connections we were unaware of while in our physical bodies. We will be amazed with connections that God used to encourage, to mature, and to love on His people in preparation for heaven. We will learn how every little act of obedience and service to God resulted in a connection that will be celebrated in heaven.

On earth, our most basic connection is our shared sin against God. God’s heart is to connect us to Himself through His Son Jesus Christ. The Holy Spirit uses our faith to bind us to God and Jesus. This special connection that begins on earth will take us into heaven’s glory with many more stories of God-ordained connections.

 

Revelation 7:9

After this I looked and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and in front of the Lamb. Thy were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands.

1 Corinthians 2:9

However, it is written: “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him.”

8 thoughts on “Chance Connections

  1. How exciting it will be to see how we are all connected in unique ways. I’m surprised you never saw another ring very similar to yours in all these years. I want to see your ring next time I see you. It must be unique!

    Like

  2. Yes I’m sure Debbie we will meet many that we shared God’s Truth with and they with us, God’s Word dose not return to Him void.

    I also give Thanks that in Heaven I will not remember those I knew on earth who are lost eternally as there is no sadness only Joy in Heaven.

    Christian Love – Anne

    Like

  3. So many connections that we’re not even aware of! How fascinating about the ring. I am reading a book called “Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife” by Eben Alexander. Quite interesting. Have you read it?

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

