Am I Good Enough?

Standard

Cards 1

I have a creative side with a roomful of craft supplies to prove it. My latest project (or obsession according to my husband) is making cards. With stamps, edging scissors, and varied textures and colors of paper, the combinations seem endless. My style is straightforward with layering and color contrast.

I see the cards as an expression of my faith for each card will hold a prayer for the recipient. I join others to make and send cards to cancer survivors and their families through the Cancer Hope ministry of SouthBrook Christian Church. (Click here for my previous post on this wonderful ministry.)

A core group of people meet to share ideas and produce cards for the ministry’s use. I bring my stash of cards to share, pleased with the results of my efforts at home. That is, until I compare my cards to those of the more creative and craftier people on the team. What once filled me with satisfaction, now feels embarrassingly simplistic. I ask myself, “Am I good enough?”

Satan wants us to compare ourselves with others. For it takes our perspective off of God’s gifting to us as individuals and places it in an arena of competition for God’s seemingly limited blessings. Satan uses lies to discourage us from God’s purpose for our lives. The truth of God reminds us that:

  • God has more than enough blessings to go around and then some more.
  • Everyone’s part in the body of Christ is needed and used by God.
  • Done for and through God, our efforts will always be more than good enough in the hands of God.

The question is no longer, “Are we good enough?” The question becomes, “Do we trust God enough to use us for His glory?”

Colossians 1:16

For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him.

 

John 6:9-13

“Here is a boy with five small barley loaves and two small fish, but how far will they go among so many?” Jesus said, “Have the people sit down.” There was plenty of grass in that place, and the men sat down, about five thousand of them. Jesus then took the loaves, gave thanks, and distributed to those who were seated as much as they wanted. He did the same with the fish. When they had all had enough to eat, he said to his disciples, “Gather the pieces that are left over. Let nothing be wasted.” So they gathered them and filled twelve baskets with the pieces of the five barley loaves left over by those who had eaten.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Am I Good Enough?

  1. I just realized how much time I put into projects because I want to be perfect like someone else – so much wasted time. I pray that I put my trust where it belongs to God for Him to use me however He wants to so that I may Glorify Him! From now on I will remember through Jesus I am good enough to serve our Lord!! You wrote it but I know these words came from God to remind all of us – He made us so we are good enough. 🙂

    Like

    • Patty, There is freedom in knowing that we are good enough through the blood of Jesus Christ! I have always heard that we are to strive for excellence rather than perfection in all that we do. (There is a big difference between excellence and perfection.) Now and then I still struggle with the perfection part as if I have to “earn” God’s favor. That’s when I go back to Ephesians 2:8, paraphrased as “Saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. God knows those who are His Debbie and not one of us will be lost even though we have weakness and shortcomings, but yes we are all unique with different giftings, yes some will just escape through the flames, there will be no rewards.

    What does it mean to believe in Jesus, our lives will show if we do, His Name is more than a word it is who He is and when He is in us we walk as He did in this world because we are perfected in Love which is not of the flesh but of The Spirit..

    1 John 4:17-19 Herein is our Love made Perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as He is so are we in this world. There is no fear in Love; but perfect Love casteth out fear because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made Perfect in Love. We Love Him, because He first Loved us.

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Another one of my favorite Scriptures is Luke 23:43, “Jesus answered him, “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.” The context of this passage shows the depth of Jesus’s love, grace, and mercy to sinners. The criminal’s life had not borne good fruit. He deserved the punishment of the cross. Yet, before the criminal took his last breath, he recognized his Lord being crucified next to him. The criminal received the rewards of heaven for his faith even though his life did not bear good fruit for God.

      No one is beyond hope and God gives each one of us multiple opportunities to turn to Jesus for forgiveness!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

