Dull Is Never A Good Thing!

Standard

I can’t remember where or when I bought my kitchen knife set. It has been that long ago. Over the years, I have thought about nicer and newer knife sets. However, the set I owned was good enough for my use, or so I thought.

There were hints that it was time to upgrade. Certain knives could only be used for tasks that didn’t require a pristine knife. When we visited our kids, I was impressed at how well their knives sliced, diced, and pared. I still didn’t see it as a problem because I had plenty of knives to choose from. My knives got the job done and that’s really all that mattered to me.

Fast-forward to Christmas 2015 when I opened my gift under the tree. It was a brand new and very sharp knife set from my older son and his wife. I asked my daughter-in-law how they came up with the idea of a knife set. (Yes, I really did ask despite the obvious!) She replied in a very gracious manner that my knives were dull and difficult to work with. I was so used to my dull knives that I had forgotten what it was like to work with sharp knives.

If we aren’t careful, the same thing can happen in our faith lives. We can become spiritually dull over time without recognizing what gradually happened. What are we doing to sharpen our faith? Are we participating in the body of believers? As we serve alongside each other, we are sharpened by rubbing elbows with more mature Christians. Be jealous for their gifts and learn from their example.

Spend time in God’s Word. The Word equips us with a sharper sense of God’s vision and purpose for our lives. Be transparent with other Christians revealing our rough edges. As we share our hearts and pray for one another, we sharpen each other for the tasks God has given us.

We are the tool that God uses to accomplish His work here on earth. May we be ready, sharp, and willing in the hands of our Father God.

 

Proverbs 17:17

As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another. 

 

Hebrews 4:12

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Dull Is Never A Good Thing!

  1. “We are the tool that God uses to accomplish His work here on earth. May we be ready, sharp, and willing in the hands of our Father God.” — Well said, Debbie. There’s a lot to think about in that statement.

    Like

  2. Dull is as we perceive it, to you Debbie the knives did the job satisfactorily, others wanted you to have better which they felt their gift was but what if you had preferred what you were using would you have been Thankful for the gift.

    Some believe because something is old it’s past it’s use by date, but it may be better than an updated one.

    Below we can see error in Translation in a newer version of the Bible and it’s source is used by other Translations and so they are in error too.

    Hebrews 4:12-13 For the Word of God is quick and powerful and sharper than any two edged sword piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit and of the joints and marrow and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart neither is there any creature that is not manifest in His sight but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of Him with whom we have to do. (KJV )

    Translation in error…….

    Hebrews 4:12-13 For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, IT penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; IT judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of Him to whom we must give account

    Apart from the Greek Scriptures all being written in upper case, there were also no small particles such as… a, it, is, etc in the early Greek therefore the IT in the Translation above is wrong, the Scriptures are referring to Jesus Christ the Living Word John 1:1 as we can see in the K.J.V it is not talking about the inspired written word, which has been taught in error.

    Why is this important, we must always acknowledge Jesus as our Authority first, He is The Truth and our only Teacher and God’s word must not be added to or parts deleted but sometimes there is man made error which is not meant to deceive and God will show us this too but without His wisdom empowered by the Holy Spirit we cannot understand (1Corinthians2:9-16)

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Annie… As always, thank you for enriching my blog post with the word study. God’s Word (Jesus) and His word (Bible) are so full that I learn something new whenever I spend time with Jesus and read my Bible.

      I hear what you are saying about “old things.” The new things are not made like they were in the “old days.” My husband was attached to an old toaster. See link here (You already commented on it when I first published it!) We kept our 24 year old washer, dryer, and refrigerator until we had to move into an apartment for 6 months and pay for storage of our household goods. We keep our cars until they wear out. We have a 14 year old van that my husband has to tap on the gas tank now and then to get it to start! 🙂

      Good new knives are so expensive that I didn’t consider buying a new set. I love that my son and daughter-in-law recognized a need and surprised me at Christmas!

      Like

      • I have a large assortment of knives Debbie, do you think I can find a large one that is sharp enough when needed and the rest I rarely use.

        Does your son and daughter-in-law need a Grannie Annie if so please reassure them that they can still give me a Birthday gift for the 26th of December, it’s always better late than never.

        When there is a known need there is always appreciation.

        Blessings Grannie Annie.

        Like

  3. Checking……… I have a large assortment of knives Debbie, do you think I can find a large one that is sharp enough when needed and the rest I rarely use.

    Does your son and daughter-in-law need a Grannie Annie if so please reassure them that they can still give me a Birthday gift for the 26th of December, it’s always better late than never.

    When there is a known need there is always appreciation.

    Blessings Grannie Annie.

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

