The Tongue Strikes Again!

Standard

Despite being a saved Christian, God is still working out His perfection through the Holy Spirit for my day-to-day life. I am reminded often that I am God’s work-in-progress.

My husband and I had one of those blame-it-on-your-middle-age fights.  He was convinced that he had given me something to take care of. I was convinced that he had not given it to me. We searched high and low in the house for that one thing. Eventually, I found the item in his domain of the garage.

I let the words roll off my tongue: words that expressed the displeasure with my husband, but did not reflect my faith. I was surprised at how easily those words formed in my mind. Where was my internal censor checking the words at the gate of my mouth?

Pride got in the way. I am a detail-oriented person who is good with the little things. Surely, I couldn’t be responsible for the missing item. Familiarity got in the way. I have a history with my husband. My response was exacerbated by other issues in our lives. Lack of self-control got in the way. I let my guard down and reacted with my emotions rather than with my faith in action.

My biggest sin had nothing to do with misplacing or forgetting that one item. Rather, it was the attitude towards my husband in response to the missing item. My prayer is that my witness for Jesus Christ will be the tongue of the wise that brings healing and one that speaks as if instructed by the Sovereign LORD. I have no doubt that God will give me another opportunity to get it right tomorrow!

Proverbs 12:18

Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing. 

Isaiah 50:4

The Sovereign LORD has given me an instructed tongue, to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being taught. 

 

12 thoughts on “The Tongue Strikes Again!

  1. Oh, the tongue! It has created such trouble in my life! I think we are harder on those we love and unleash on them because we trust they will forgive us. How blessed that we also have a good, good Father who will do so as well. And ditto to the work in progress! I’m reminded of Paul who said he found himself doing what he didn’t want to do — sinning. And it is true of us all. Thank you Lord for your mercy and favor.

    Like

    • Donna, I have also heard that the people closest to us are the hardest ones to witness to. Maybe, part of the reason is because they have seen us at our worst (and hopefully our best!) I really want to “do better” in my own family. Once the tongue is “under control,” I want to take it to the next level and have only loving thoughts! 2 Corinthians 10:15, “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” May our words and our thoughts reflect our Lord Jesus Christ.

      Like

    • Kathleen, I tell myself that I will only make a mistake once, but there are a million other mistakes that I can make! God is the best teacher and I still have lots of lessons to learn! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    • Mani, This WAS a little thing as I can’t even remember what we were looking for! 🙂 Great advice in your last line regardless of how long people have been married. Expectations, needs, communication, love, forgiveness, and grace are all intertwined in a happy marriage!

      Like

  2. I too am not Perfected in Love yet Debbie, I’m where Paul was at one time in his walk but like him I’m aiming to be Perfected, putting my Carnal flesh to death by The Spirit as I choose to walk in His Fruit and like Paul and others I will arrive before I die, God tells us those He knows as His own not one of us will be lost.

    Yes Debbie Carnal anger causes many wounds but forgiveness and understanding heals them, sadly some don’t forgive and so we have Separation and than Divorce but they are not God’s will for His Redeemed Children because they show a hard heart which includes bitterness and resentment and both of these kill Love.

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • I wouldn’t be married for 28 years (this year), if forgiveness and healing weren’t a part of our marriage!

      Human love can be so fragile, but thank God for His love. Romans 5:6-8: You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

      Like

  3. Very True Debbie, Worldly Love is full of insecurities because it is based on self, this is why God asks us to aim for His Love that is Pure and Complete.

    Forgiveness is what God’s Love is all about at the Cross, how can we not forgive others when we remember how we inflicted Jesus with our sin, dare we hold bitterness and resentment towards anyone else when we caused Jesus to suffer so much, which grieved God our Heavenly Father greatly.

    Thank you again Debbie for all your Encouragement and Support and for being the Special Woman you are.

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

