God Always Has Something Better In Mind!

Standard

It was a summer of anticipation. Last spring, I felt the calling to be a children’s leader for a Bible study on Revelation. I didn’t know who my co-leader would be or which age group I would be leading. However, there was one thing I knew for sure. My co-leader would be a singer and a good one. I knew this to be true because that is how I prayed all summer for my unknown co-leader. My prayers were specific, bold, and unwavering.

This was important to me for one reason: I am not a singer. I am not being humble when I say that. My lack of singing talent is well-known in my family. As brand-new parents, my husband jokingly warned me not to sing to our baby boy because I would teach him the wrong tunes. (I don’t think my husband was kidding, but I still sang!)

I needed a co-leader that could sing well. She would carry me, back me up, and hopefully, a little bit of her talent would rub off on me. I expressed all this to God through prayer to make sure we had the issue covered.

In September, I met my co-leader. I quickly moved on from the introductions to the burning question on my mind. You know what that question was! Imagine my surprise when she replied that she was not a singer. I have to admit that I was taken aback. How did God and I get our wires crossed? This didn’t make sense to me.

Through more prayer, my initial surprise turned into expectation. God must have something better in mind. Clues to that something better were evident in our first class with fourteen 13-to-20-month-olds. It was a rough start with many tears (not mine, but the children’s) as the little ones said goodbye to their moms. Regardless, we witnessed God’s hand of protection on our teaching times as the tears stopped long enough for us to share the Bible story and sing hymns.

I was the one leading worship with my untrained and out-of-tune voice. The kids responded despite my lack of singing talent. The music even seemed to comfort our young students. My first lesson as a newly-minted teacher was that worship is not about me. Worshipping God through music is about our heart preparation and focus on Him with singing talent as optional.

As the year has progressed, that lesson has become blessings. My confidence has grown as I overcame the self-consciousness of my own singing. I have even caught myself spontaneously singing the children’s hymns throughout the week. Worship through singing out loud and a cappella is now integrated into my daily routine!

I was focused on my singing while God was focused on my worship. I dwelled on my lack while God revealed more of Himself. I had one thing in mind, but God always has something better in mind!

Ephesians 5:19

Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord,

Psalm 8:2

From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise because of your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger.

 

12 thoughts on “God Always Has Something Better In Mind!

  1. This is such a reminder that His will is always better. I read this in a recent Bible study: “God’s will is what we would choose if we knew what God knows.”

    It could even be that the children who grow up self-conscious about their own singing voices will feel encouraged and worthy to shout to the Lord in song because their leaders’ singing voices were, well, less than perfect.

    I’d be curious the names of some of the songs that those babies sing. I am astounded at the notion of teaching Revelation to such wee ones. I’d love to be a fly on the wall.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Donna, I love the principle that you shared. (I already wrote it down for my notes!)

      As for encouraging others, regardless of our innate talents: I think that is a page out of God’s book! We hear so many Old Testament (and some New Testament) stories where people failed, gave up, or resisted God at first, but were still used by God in a mighty way. (Moses who didn’t think he was articulate enough to lead the Israelites, David’s affair with Bathsheba, Peter denying Jesus, and Paul persecuting Christians, just to name a few examples!)

      I can share the songs that we sang for December. Joy to the World, verse 1. (We were told in leaders’ meeting that this song was not written as a Christmas song, but rather to celebrate the Second Coming of Jesus Christ.) Our second song was Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus, verse 2. “I’m so glad I learned to trust Him, Precious Jesus, Savior, Friend: And I know that He is with me, He’ll be with me to the end.”

      We would love to have you as a volunteer in our class. That way you could interact with the little ones. And it would be more fun than being a fly!

      Like

  2. Worship is pleasing Jesus. Your teaching and singing with your voice allows him to enjoy your sound. Everything we speak comes from our heart. The young ones are catching the sound of worship through your obedience and unique sound.

    Like

  3. Debbie we have something else in common, I can’t sing either, I’m tone deaf but I love to sing and I do often and others are so kind in Church they give me plenty of room to do so, most of the time I have all the front seats to myself.

    But Wow, the Children in my Funday School just love to sing and dance too, I’m limited with my feet but the Children keep me going and they even enjoy my singing and all my actions too and it’s so good to hear them singing Jesus loves me, when their playing with their friends or on their way School.

    How True this is………God never asks about our Ability or our Inability but about our Availability.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Annie, We could be our own choir! It has been over 20 years since I have been around preschoolers this much. I guess I forgot how much they enjoy music and respond to music. We sing sitting at a table (it helps with their focus.) The kids will inevitably began to sway and to tap the table. Worship naturally involves our bodies too, not just our voices!

      From the comments, I picked up two great principles: Donna’s first paragraph and your last paragraph!

      Like

  4. Very beautiful Debbie. It is amazing that when we step out of our comfort zone for God, He never disappoints or lets us down. Our voices when used for God’s glory are very beautiful to Him.

    I cannot carry a tune myself, and the church I lay minister has about 15 to 20 on a given Sunday. I would LOVE to have anyone other than me lead the music, but it has never happened. That’s okay, with myself the music has been a blessing. Songs will go through my head often.

    Thank you for your honesty, and thank you for sharing! 🙂

    ~Carl~

    Like

    • Carl, In the past, I have shirked the responsibility for leading kids in worship for Children’s church or Sunday School. The excuses were plentiful: I was uncomfortable and besides the older boys wouldn’t sing and simply looked bored. By seeing the response in the little ones, I have realized firsthand in their lives (and mine), the importance of worship. I knew it, but I have now experienced it!

      A lot of us are in the “Cannot Carry a Tune” choir! It takes a sense of maturity to get past that and be obedient to God’s call to lead worship. Kudos to you as you expected God to equip you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wayne Thomas

    I STARTED SINGING DAILY IN MY QUIET TIME AND I LEARNED WHAT A WONDERFUL PART OF PERSONAL WORSHIP IT IS. THE PSALMS ENCOURAGES US TO SING AND PRAISE THE LORD NOT JUST IN CHURCH BUT INOUR PERSONAL TIME ALSO. THANKS FOR THE BLESSING

    Like

    • It takes our worship to a new level, doesn’t it? It is like having Scripture “hidden in your heart,” as the words and tune come to mind throughout the day and in different circumstances! (Singing is also a great memorization tool. Lots of perks to worshiping God through songs. :))

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

