Light The Way

Standard

The Light 1

It was just a cheesy landscape decoration made in China. The plastic butterfly on a stick seemed out-of-place as my in-laws and I sat outside enjoying the evening. With the day waning, the butterfly began to shine forth with ever-changing colors. I was drawn to the light as my eyes forgot about the darkness settling.

Much to my delight, my mother-in-law had an extra decoration. I went home with my own landscape decoration of light shaped like a flower. Placed outside my kitchen window, I purposely walked by that window after dark to glimpse the light.

During the day, the stronger light of the sun charges the battery attached to the flower, all in preparation for the evening. If the day was cloudy with the sun playing peek-a-boo, the flower does not last through the night. Each morning brings another opportunity for the flower to be refreshed in order to display light.

The purpose of light is to pierce the darkness. The light becomes a beacon of hope that guides the way. What was once hidden by the dark shadows is now revealed by the light. God sent His light into the world as a bouncing baby boy: Jesus Christ the promised Son and light of the world.

Jesus’s light caused men to fall at His feet in worship and other men to plot His death. It is the same today. The light of Jesus Christ always unveils the motivation of our hearts. May we embrace God’s light of eternal life in order to shine forth and draw others to Jesus. The world’s darkness will continue to encroach. However, God’s light will permeate all enabling us to endure through the night.

At the end of the day, it is God’s light in Jesus Christ that confirms we are truly home.

Psalm 18:28

You, O LORD, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.

John 8:12

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

 

9 thoughts on “Light The Way

    • I am smiling at your comment. I love that God gives us the desires of our hearts and points us back to Him! Even for the silly little things like a cheap decoration from Wal-Mart! (My mother-in-law said she bought it a few years back.)

      Like

  1. Debbie – thanks again for your comment on my memory bench- and the light beams in it- and then your post here is all about light- and I actually read this I the reader last night – the neon image stood out and I like your writing style -and enjoyed your faith analogy – and I sometimes have a light analogy I use to remind Christians of how Christ uses us in the world / sometimes without ever saying a word but because his light is in us we imbue that presence – and I guess it also reminds me of how God strategically places us places – like we would not put fifty lamps in one living room – but sometimes God places us strategically somewhere to be a source of light – while we get recharged by the “son” that thankfully is never hit or miss or dependent on clouds – ha!

    Like

      • Well i can see that you have a metaphor – analogy style but what I really sense is your heart – you genuinely share the gospel and even though I am actually still getting a feel for this whole blog – I see your evangelistic heart. I will be honest – I probably will not be a long time blog follower – because I like to change up the blogs I follow and it is more my style – also – I don’t feel like I am an ideal recipient of your posts – if that makes sense

        Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

