Not Feeling So Smart!

Standard
Credit for Drawing: Audrey McCray

Credit for Drawing: Audrey McCray

My husband and I recently upgraded to smartphones for the very first time. Our adult kids had convinced us of the practicalities and convenience of a smartphone. We were excited as the applications seemed endless. We were ready to transform our lives.

To say the least, the transition has been interesting. I have to admit that I don’t feel so smart with my smartphone. Even the basic functions are fancy with swipes, taps, and voice commands. There are so many choices that sometimes I can’t figure out what I want or even need. My goal is that someday, I will be smart enough for a smartphone.

Smartphones are not the only area of my life where I am constantly learning. Even after twenty years of being a Christian, my faith in God is stretched and fed daily. I discover new applications in my life for the truth of God’s Word. I am given opportunities to make better choices as I walk out my faith. God imparts wisdom that I desire to understand more fully.

The nice thing about God’s wisdom is that it doesn’t make me feel dumb. I am in awe of God’s timeless truths for my life. God’s wisdom doesn’t make me look cool with technology. Rather, I feel loved because His Word lives inside of me through the Holy Spirit. I made the smartest decision when I chose to upgrade my life through faith in Jesus Christ.

1 Corinthians 1:25

For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.

 Isaiah 28:29

All this also comes from the LORD Almighty, wonderful in counsel and magnificent in wisdom.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Not Feeling So Smart!

  1. Love your allegory Debbie and I’m impressed you have a Smart phone, mine is very dumb.

    God’s Wisdom is the Principle thing (Proverbs 4:7) with His empowering by The Holy Spirit, it’s so wonderful that you have asked and received Debbie as we shared about before but even more so that you believe you received, many keep asking and than Trust in themselves or others instead of Jesus to lead them into all Truth and we know that it’s The Truth that sets us free.

    Proverbs 3:5-7 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart and lean not unto thine own understanding in all thy ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct thy paths. Be not wise in thine own eyes fear the Lord, and depart from evil.

    1 John 2:26-28 These things have I written unto you concerning them that seduce you. But the anointing which ye have received of Him abideth in you and ye need not that any man teach you but as the same anointing Teacheth you of all things and is Truth and is no lie and even as it hath Taught you, ye shall abide in Him.

    Matthew 10:26-28 Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in Light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops (KJV)

    I just want to Thank you personally Debbie for visiting Bj she very much needs Christian Love and support as we all do but even more right now and it was very Loving of you to hold her hand in the Roses.

    Christian Love – Anne.

    Like

    • Anne, I signed up to receive BJ’s posts. Her pictures are incredible! God’s beauty in creation combined with intimacy with His Son is always encouraging. Thanks for sharing more of God’s Word about the wisdom we are to seek!

      Like

  2. Oh, yes, sometimes I certainly don’t feel smart about smartphones and other technology. I feel like the day will come when I won’t be able to do simple things because I won’t understand the technology. But God through the Holy Spirit helps us understand Him, and you are so right, what a smart decision we made to follow Him.

    The drawing is lovely and so well done!

    Like

    • Donna, Someone asked me how I write (in a literal sense) my blog posts. I replied that I do it the old-fashioned way with pen and paper and then retype on the computer to post on my blog. He proceeded to show me technology to “write” on the computer, store ideas, and cross-reference different sources from all linked technology. It did look pretty cool. But nah, there is something about writing on paper (along with reading a real newspaper) that appeals to me. (Maybe an old soul, I don’t know!)

      Like

  3. I was forced a few months ago to sign up for a smart phone, I don’t regret it now. Because of where I live I needed one. My old phone was not able to pick up my calls. They are so much stronger for people living in the hills of Australia. I have not been able to take a great deal of pictures this year, I cannot get out because of my leg. I do miss not using my camera as much.

    Like

    • I do like the Smartphone now! I can check prices and clip coupons while I am out shopping. My husband tracks the miles we hike. Lots of applications that help us out each day.

      The biggest downfall is that we can spend so much time on the phone “just checking in” that it becomes a distraction for real conversation and pursuing other worthwhile hobbies. I am still learning to “set those boundaries!”

      Liked by 1 person

      • They can be a trap I know, but I keep telling myself, I need it because of where I live sometimes I let myself get distracted with it, I admit and have a play with the apps. The other reason I like it is because I can use it as a modem when the internet server goes down. God’s creation of knowledge and the way we use it.

        Like

  4. Debbie,
    I love this excerpt from your life and the truthful analogy. I don’t have a smartphone and I’m not sure I want to spend all that time trying to learn it because just the Internet alone is an on-going learning situation with the RSS and the HTML. You are right, when I say prayers I don’t feel stupid, humbled, yes.
    Ginene

    Like

    • Ginene, Truth be told, I have not downloaded any apps, other than what came with the phone. I don’t want to become dependent on my phone! I am impressed that you know RSS and HTML. I have not ventured into that arena yet. (WordPress makes it easy not to, although, sometimes I wish I had more flexibility!)

      “Humbled” is a good word as that is be our perspective in approaching God and living out our faith!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sheila, And the phone can help with finding the right Bible verse at the right time! I haven’t had the “courage” to use it in church yet. It just feels wrong to me even if it is accepted. I always carry my Bible with me to church! 🙂

      I am glad your path today has taken you by my post! 🙂

      Like

      • Hey, I understand! I have an NIV that I’ve used for years. However, as I travel so much, I’ve come to appreciate my app on my phone, and I actually do use it in church! I NEVER text or do other stuff there, only use the Bible app. But I love that I can bookmark and save favorite verses through it. ~Sheila

        Liked by 1 person

    • Diana, That’s how we know that we are maturing: we realize how much more we have to go! It’s good to hear from you. I hope you are sleeping better and writing more for your next blog series. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

