Are You Aiming To Be Godly Or Simply Good?

Standard

Someone described their religion to me as “Love and hard word.” In theory, it is a good philosophy.  Love implies kindness to others. Hard work implies productivity. These are honorable principles that can make the world a better place.

However, love and hard work can’t save us or the world. If heaven was built on the love and hard work of mankind, it wouldn’t be eternal or perfect. I thank God that His heaven is based on the love of His perfect Son Jesus Christ and the hard work of Jesus’s sacrifice on the cross.

Neither our good deeds nor our performance can take the place of faith in Jesus Christ. As I surrender my life to Jesus, I want to work hard and make the most of every opportunity. I strive to genuinely love people. The reason why is more than a philosophy with positive benefits for those around me. Rather, I long to follow the example of my Lord Jesus Christ.

Good people work hard and love people. Godly people work hard and love people as the resulting expression of genuine faith. It is not enough to simply love others and do good things. We were created to know God who defines perfect love and embodies everything good.

We are all works in progress as the knowledge of Jesus’s love becomes real in our hearts and tangible in our daily lives. So, are you aiming to be godly or simply good?

Ephesians 2:8-10

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

James 2:18

But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.” Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Are You Aiming To Be Godly Or Simply Good?

  1. So very True Debbie, if we are saved we will show we are, obedience is not works it is our heart response to our God of Love, we Love Him passionately because Jesus is within us and He Loves Him passionately.

    Galatians 2: 20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who Loved me and gave Himself for me.(KJV)

    The Truth you shared Debbie on your last Post and on this one is the answer, we can’t walk in God’s Perfect Love unless Jesus is within us, as you said Jesus is the vine that supports us with His strength, sustains us with His nourishment, and protects us with His life.

    We choose and than we are empowered to walk in Victory… Create in me a new Heart oh Lord and renew a right spirit within me.
    .

    .
    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Annie… As always, beautiful Scripture and worship music to expound on my post! As you worded in your last sentence and Ezekiel declared in 36:26-27: “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.” Now that is real power and real love! In Christ’s Love, Debbie

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

