So Close, But Yet So Far!

Standard
Not Lion's Head, but a view from the trail to Lion's Head in Dolly Sods Wilderness.

Not Lion’s Head, but a view from the trail to Lion’s Head in Dolly Sods Wilderness.

I wanted to share a picture of Lion’s Head: the rocky formation with a view of Canaan Valley off of the Rocky Point Trail in Dolly Sods, West Virginia. However, I can’t because we never found it on our hike.

Oh we tried to find it. We prepared by checking maps and following advice from online hiking blogs before we even ventured out. We planned the hike for the near-perfect day and weather conditions. We hiked the ten mile loop. And we failed.

We were very close, I know it! We scrambled up rocks, but did not get to the promised view. We checked out other routes marked by cairns (rock piles left by other hikers to indicate a trail). Everything led to more dead ends. With our energy waning and time limited, we had to move on.

I have to admit that I was disappointed. The spectacular view of Lion’s Head was the purpose and the highlight of this hike. Despite the fresh mountain air, the sound of streams and nature’s best surrounding me, I longed for the something more that we missed.

I think of the patriarchs of faith. God placed a vision of His promise in their hearts. Hebrews 11:13 shares how these patriarchs felt about not receiving the promise in their lifetime: “All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance. And they admitted that they were aliens and strangers on earth.”

May we have the same faith to know, to embrace and to confess Jesus in our hearts. May we consider the life lived in the flesh as preparation for heaven.  May our longing always be for heaven, that which is hoped for, but not yet seen. May we trust God to make good on His promises. God will bring us home and share His view of our glorious inheritance in Jesus Christ.

Hebrews 11:1

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

Isaiah 33:17

Your eyes will see the king in his beauty and view a land that stretches afar.

 

9 thoughts on “So Close, But Yet So Far!

  1. Beautiful Debbie! “The Spirit of God whets our appetite by giving us a taste of what’s ahead. He puts a little of heaven in our hearts so that we’ll never settle for less.” 2 Corinthians 5:5 MSG 😊

    Like

      • Donna, I have shared before the comment from an older friend and I am paraphrasing to the best of my memory. As she gets older, God places more longing in her heart for heaven because more and more of her treasure is in heaven.

        We can rejoice over the treasure waiting for us in heaven.

        Like

      • Donna, I have shared before the comment from an older friend and I am paraphrasing to the best of my memory. As she gets older, God places more longing in her heart for heaven because more and more of her treasure is in heaven.

        We can rejoice over the treasure waiting for us in heaven.

        Like

  2. I love your allegories Debbie, like the Parables in Scripture they have much Truth.

    We remember that Jesus said to doubting Thomas, blessed are those that don’t see but believe and that is us as you shared, we believe in Jesus even though we have never seen Him in the flesh and we have Faith that we will receive all He promised now on earth and eternally and we rejoice that He is within us so we are no longer just human, we are Super Human as the Scripture below confirms.

    Galatians 2: 20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who Loved me, and gave Himself for me.(KJV)

    Colossians 1:27-29 To whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory Whom we preach, warning every man, and teaching every man in all wisdom; that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus Whereunto I also labour, striving according to his working, which worketh in me mightily(KJV)

    Ephesians 3:16-18 That He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might by His Spirit in the inner man; That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye being rooted and grounded in Love, may be able to comprehend with all Saints what is the breadth and length and depth and height;(KJV)

    Galatians 3:26-28 For ye are all the Children of God by faith in Christ Jesus. For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female for ye are all one in Christ Jesus.(KJV)

    2 Corinthians 13:4-6 For though He was crucified through weakness, yet He liveth by the power of God. For we also are weak in Him, but we shall live with Him, by the power of God toward you. Examine yourselves, whether ye be in the faith; prove your own selves. Know ye not your own selves, how that Jesus Christ is in you, except ye be reprobates? But I trust that ye shall know that we are not reprobates.(KJV)

    Christian Love Now and Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Annie, Wonderful verses you shared to expand on the promises fulfilled in Jesus Christ! I have noticed that the more years I walk with the LORD, the more examples He gives me to tie Scripture to my life’s experiences. I love the personal application of God’s Word to my day-to-day life.

      By the way, it so good to have you back online! Blessings to you my Christian sister.

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

