A Sweet Surprise

Standard

IMG_3017

Bruised, misshapen and downright ugly: a good friend offered me a bag of mid-summer Lodi apples. I was skeptical at first. What would I do with these smaller-than-normal apples? What would I want to do with these apples that were characterized by their imperfections?

My friend raved about the applesauce made from these summer-ripened apples processed through a food mill. She convinced me that the time and effort were worth it. All I needed to do was quarter the apples and remove the bigger bruises, bug trails and stems. The food mill would do the hard work and separate the peel, seeds and “junk” from the desired smooth applesauce. The result was surprisingly wonderful. The applesauce was tangy with just enough sweetness: a unique flavor all its own.

We can go through life and end up with evidence of attack, bent out of shape and feeling small. God still accepts us, even embraces us with our imperfections. God is able to bring sweetness out of the ugliness and into our lives. It may seem a far-fetched possibility, but the result is always based on God’s character, not ours.

At times, we need someone to remind us of the vision and reassure us of God’s goodness in our lives. Jesus Christ on the cross speaks volumes about the love that makes it possible. Let’s reach out to God in the ugliness of life, knowing that His presence is the sweetness and His glory is the proof of the results.

Psalm 34:8

Taste and see that the LORD is good, blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.

2 Corinthians 2:14

But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “A Sweet Surprise

  1. Excellent analogy of the Lord who bore our bruises so that we could wear His perfection. I can relate as this week as I wear a sprained back & three large purple bruises from being thrown while horseback riding. My bruises are a badge of courage in the good fight of faith. The sweetness remains!

    Like

    • Kathryne, I am so sorry to hear about your riding accident. Ouch! Prayers for quick and complete healing. It is interesting how you connected the bruises from the fall with courage and the faith fight. I did the same after treatment for breast cancer. I bear the battle scars of breast cancer, but I praise God that He won the war for my life (and all of mankind!)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Donna, And don’t judge a book by its cover!

      The tree that produced these apples is sad-looking too. It is an old tree that has been struck by lightning in the past with part of the tree dead. I think of that tree (the visual) and am reminded that regardless of our age, circumstances, or productivity, God can still use us to share His glory!

      Like

  2. Your post came at the best time. Like a lovely gift, unexpected, and right to the point of a subject that has been wearing me down. Someone stole something big from the shop and I was disheartened about people this week. When you wrote that God is able to bring sweetness out of the ugliness of life, it was like a balm.
    Ginene

    Like

    • Oh Ginene… Praise God for His timing! I am back from a week-long (unplugged for the most part) vacation in the mountains of West Virginia. I scheduled several posts to run while I was gone. Your comment is beautiful confirmation that God knows all things and reaches down to hug us and encourage us through others. I am so glad that I could be a little part of that sweetness right now. 🙂

      My prayer for you is that you will feel God’s restoration and His abundance that more than covers the loss! Zechariah 9:12, “Return to your fortress, O prisoners of hope; even now I announce that I will restore twice as much to you.”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes so True Debbie and because of God’s great Love for us we too show we Love Him with all our heart and all our being but not because we have to but because we want to,

    Is our lives like a rotten apple or a sweet and flavorsome tasty morsel that the Lord can delight in too, yes He will empower us but we choose willingly to walk in the Spirit and we will if Jesus is within us, His desire is our desire.

    Galatians 2: 20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who Loved me, and gave Himself for me.(KJV)

    Ephesians 3:16-18 That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by His Spirit in the inner man; That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in Love, May be able to comprehend with all Saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height;(KJV)

    A reflection of Christ within us is shown in how we treat others, Jesus said how we treat them is how we are treating Him, are we showing His Love willingly or forcing ourselves to comply to the needs of others, without passion or Joy, do we Love our Brothers and Sisters in The Body of Christ or is it a duty to support and encourage them, does God’s Love motivates us or our Carnal flesh which we must put to death through the empowering of the Holy Spirit as we choose to walk in His Fruit.

    Galatians 24 -26 And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts. if we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another.

    .

    .
    Christian Love and Blessings – Anne.

    Like

    • Annie, I have never heard this song before. The words are simple, but so rich! Thank God, the strength of those cords are based on God, not us!

      Not an excuse, but more a reason why: I missed this comment of yours because we had been on vacation and it got “lost” in the shuffle when I was back online and catching up. So, it was my fault, not WordPress’s that it took me so long to respond.

      Dear Sister in Christ, you do know that I would not purposely snub you, right?!!! 🙂

      Blessings, Debbie

      Like

  4. No Debbie I did not think you would be deliberately rude to me like some others have been but they were mostly Cult members or deceived Christians and no doubt they were also rude to others who did not agree with them but to be honest personally I don’t need their approval or agreement, I have the Lord’s and what I share is confirmed in Scripture and in context and not just within the Chapter but with all the Scriptures, we need to see the big Picture not just bits and pieces like a jigsaw puzzle .

    But yes Debbie because my comments are being moderated without you asking for them to be, I did think that WordPress were responsible again meaning someone who works for them and as I shared in the last e-mail I sent you, it’s not the first time others have not been notified I have commented or I haven’t received their responses even though they did respond. So what did WordPress say Debbie was the reason for the Moderating, why is it happening?

    Blessings – Anne.

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

