When Do You Stop Praying for Physical Healing?

Standard

When do you stop praying for physical healing?

My gut reaction is never. My faith response is to never ever give up on God who can deliver the unexpected and last minute healing. For our God is always hopeful, always powerful and always merciful. God’s heart is for healing!

In the past, I have been asked to pray for the peaceful passing of others’ loved ones that suffered too long in the body. I politely declined to pray in that manner. But twice now, for close family members, I have asked God to give my loved ones the healing found only in heaven.

I have thought long and hard about my answer to that question, “When do you stop praying for physical healing?” It was a gradual and emotional process that carried me from the denial of death to the acceptance of God’s healing redefined.

There were signs along the way. The doctor shared, “Depending on your faith, she is already gone.” The nurse remarked, “Sometimes, it doesn’t matter what (end-of-life) decisions you make, the decision has already been made.” The pastor prayed, “Any decision made in love is the right decision.”

Your heart screams “NO!” as God pulls you closer to Him. Without words, God reassures your spirit that He has “got this.” Am I willing to trust God for everything in life and for everything in death?

I knew when it was time to stop praying for the physical healing. It was the moment I let go of my loved one and asked God to fill my mouth with praises for Him. It started out with just drops of praises that turned into a trickle. God was present in the midst of doctors, nurses, monitors and tubes. Family was huddled together around the hospital bed keeping watch. We could sense that the physical pain of our loved one was finally easing as life ebbed before our eyes.

I know that time and hindsight will bring the rush of praises, but in the moment it is difficult to muster. Letting go of my expectation for physical healing didn’t make death any easier. But it did help me to keep moving forward in God: one baby step at a time and one praise at a time.

 

Psalm 34:1

I will extol the LORD at all times; his praise will always be on my lips.

 

Daniel 3:16-18

Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego replied to the king, “O Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. But even if he does not, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”

13 thoughts on “When Do You Stop Praying for Physical Healing?

  1. I’ve thought about this tough subject too. It seems that it is our nature to want to live and want our loved ones to live with us as well. God wired us to live forever and if not for the fall, we would never have to experience death!

    So for those of us who have accepted Christ, we should look forward to that day when we cross over to permanent healing.

    Once I was in a beauty shop when a customer I didn’t know came in and told the hairdresser about a loved one who was gravely ill. The customer said “Oh, we know she is already healed. It is only a question of is she healed here or will it be on other side.” I will never forget that.

    Like

  2. Amen! There are times that God just wants us to pray, “Lord, Thy will be done” and leave it up to Him. He controls life and death. He knows the desires of our hearts. We just have to trust Him with our hearts. God bless you!

    Like

  3. Our time on earth Debbie is allotted to us before we are Born and only God knows the time we will need to fulfill the work that He has prepared in advance for us to do and we won’t die until all has been completed.

    His plans for us are good not evil , He does not cause us to suffer to teach or mold us as He tells us in the Scriptures, death and suffering came from the fall, Satan control’s this world , even to say a Christian does evil to bring good out of it is slander.

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of Peace and not of evil, to give you a Future and a Hope.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    We either believe the Scriptures or we will stay trapped in Cult deception.

    To understand God’s heart of Love we need His Wisdom and empowering by The Holy Spirit, we ask for and receive both. 1Corinthians2:9-16

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

  4. My thoughts and prayers to you and your family during this time of great loss and sadness. My prayers to your mom and brother-in-law who I know now is resting in heaven wrapped in God’s loving embrace. Several years ago, I didn’t have the chance to see my grandma before she died at the ICU but I prayed back then that she didn’t suffer and that God blessed her with his healing body and soul. I believed he answered my prayers. Take care my friend.

    Like

    • If we live long enough, we will have to deal with loss. Prayers transcend time and space, hence, we have the assurance that God hears our prayers. And we know that God answers prayers. We look forward to the time when we can be reunited with loved ones without all the baggage of illness, death, sadness or sin.

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

