Hugs in Heaven:

Standard

Introduction: This post was inspired by a desire to give my blogging friends a hug! Annie of freedomborn.wordpress.com in Australia comes to mind along with others.

Annie knows Scripture and is not afraid to use it.  One of her many gifts is encouraging fellow bloggers by creating Power Points. Below is a link to a Power Point she created especially for me. The theme is Hope Blossoming in Faith and is filled with beautiful pictures of snowdrops and Scriptures on hope. Consider it five minutes of worship time. Thanks Annie and hugs to you!

Click on this: Link to Annie’s Blog. Then scroll to the bottom of the screen on Annie’s blog and click on the link for Hope Blossoming in Faith to download the Power Point for playing.

Hugs in Heaven

I have a long list of people to hug in heaven. My mom is at the front of the line. Since her death was sudden and unexpected, I ache to feel her hug again. There are grandparents who passed away before I was even born. This will be our first hug. Of course, there are other family members that we didn’t have as much time with as we wanted here on earth. Those hugs can linger in heaven.

The list is comprised of more than just family members. There are people I have only read about. People before my time and examples of faith I have learned from through their stories in the Bible. Will I be shy about hugging Moses or Paul?

There are people I will recognize, but won’t know their names like that guy from the Christian bookstore. I was a seeker at the time shopping for a Bible. Overwhelmed by all the options for Bibles and embarrassed by my lack of knowledge on anything biblical, he asked if he could help me. I bought his recommendation. I want to hug him for his kindness and for noticing me without shaming me.

Hugs for people I know only as a name with a picture. There are blogging friends that hold open their arms through the internet to welcome and encourage me. Just maybe, there will be an opportunity to meet and hug before heaven even though we are literally worlds apart. Yet we are family in God’s kingdom and the hugs will feel natural in heaven.

I hope there will be many surprise huggers in heaven. People whose faith I wasn’t sure off, but desperately long to see their faces in heaven. The awkwardness will be gone and the hugs will be genuine.

Although I have had a foretaste of this hug on my heart and my life, I can’t wait to run into my Abba Daddy’s arms and feel the physical presence of His hug. I am home at last.

I am thinking of a great big group hug in heaven. Will you gather in?

 

Philemon 7

Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the saints. 

2 John 12

I have much to write to you, but I do not want to use paper and ink. Instead, I hope to visit you and talk with you face to face, so that our joy may be complete.

16 thoughts on “Hugs in Heaven:

  1. Thank you for the Link Debbie, you are a wonderful encourager and yes I very much wish I could give you a Big ((( HUG )))

    Thankfully we will not know in Heaven if someone is missing that we knew on earth, as the Scriptures confirm we will have no memory of earth or we would grieve and there is only Joy in Heaven.

    Thanks again dear Debbie and Many Blessings – Annie.

    Like

    • Annie, my son was probably about 6-9 years old when he asked me, “How won’t we cry in heaven when people we love aren’t there.” All I could do was point to Scripture and share God’s word that there are no tears, no pain and no sadness in heaven.

      I know there won’t be marriage in heaven (Matthew 22:23-33.) We will recognize Jesus (as the disciples recognized the resurrected Jesus), so it seems logical that we will recognize people in heaven. Which Scriptures tell us that we won’t have any memory of earth?

      Thanks for your insight Annie!

      Like

        • Anne, thanks for the link and the Scriptures about not remembering the old earth: Isaiah 65:17 and Revelation 21:4. God’s word in these verses shares that we will not remember death, sorrow, crying, pain or former things (the former.) Isaiah 25:8 adds the rebuke of his people to that list. My take-away is that we won’t remember any of Satan’s ploys to steal, kill and destroy.

          Isaiah 66:22 KJV says, “For as the new heavens and the new earth, which I will make, shall remain before me, saith the LORD, so shall your seed and your name remain.” The last part of the verse indicates to me that the relationships we know on earth will remain in heaven. Do you agree?

          This is such a great topic to explore. In the fall, I will be starting a 30 week study on Revelation through Bible Study Fellowship, an international, non-denominational study. Anne, you and I could both study Revelation at the same time as BSF has classes in Australia! 🙂 I am looking forward to an in-depth picture of Revelation. I want to be prepared for when it all plays out!

          Like

      • Sorry Debbie for taking so long to reply to your response to my comment but as I shared on my Blog, I was cut off from the Internet and also my Phone and Mobil was disconnected too. I’m using a Broadban attachment now, it does have problems but it helps me connect.

        I’m not receiving Posts or comment responses yet from all those I follow, only those who have recently commented on my Blog have I joined up with because I’m only using a temporary email address but next week when I’m connected with a new Provider I will join up with everyone else again. With not having heard from you, I thought you were away but I felt lead to visit, I’m pleased I did as I did not receive your reply.

        Yes we will remember Debbie those of our Loved ones who are in Heaven but not those who aren’t or we would grieve and there are no tears in Heaven only deep inner Joy and rejoicing.

        Blessings – Anne

        Like

        • Anne, I am glad to hear that things (technology-related) should be settling down for you soon. I can only imagine your frustration, but keep on keeping on! (Romans 5:3-5, 1 Peter 1:6-7, James 1:2-4)

          Like

  2. Great post this morning, running into the arms of our heavenly Father is a given, but my husband, my soul mate will surely be next in line followed by my parents, brother and I pray the long line of people who I planted a seed into. And I had to chuckle at what you said about Anne – she knows scripture and not afraid to use it – praise God for her!! The just about describes Anne in a nutshell! 🙂

    Like

    • Patty, I didn’t intend to overlook spouses, children, friends, church family, etc. I thank God that the list is too long to mention in a single blog post.
      Anne has a boldness in her faith that I aspire to. (BTW: Sorry that your comments need my “approval.” I have changed settings in the Administration setting, but haven’t come upon that magic combination yet for WordPress to automatically approve them.)

      Like

  3. Count me in for a group hug in heaven my friend. Thanks for sharing generously loving, comforting hugs. I too wish to hug my love ones who are now in heaven too especially my grand parents. I have not seen my grandma from my dad side for years before she died and how I wish I did…but I do know one day God will have us reunite and I could feel her loving hug once more. Anne is a wonderful, kind blogger friend…she lights the world with God’s love and words through her posts. Have a great week and God bless you and your family.

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

