The Only Way

Standard

The destination was dear friends in Naples, Florida. The way was a very long road trip. From our starting point, there was only one route to take for the entire length, Interstate 75. The path was filled with natural beauty and curiosities. We wished we had more time to stop, discover and explore. The path was also fraught with temptation as billboards invited the passerby to dally at gambling and x-rated venues. But we knew our destination: friends anxious to welcome us, sunshine and palm trees. We will be enjoying vacation soon.

Our faith is also a journey. The destination is heaven. The way can feel long with all the twists, turns and detours of life. We can get sidetracked with the beauty of good things and the sin of bad things. There is only way to enter heaven as the path is clearly marked in Jesus Christ. Loved ones are praying and anxious for our safety. Our arrival is a cause for excitement and a reason to celebrate. Our Father waits up to welcome us home. Our final destination is in the Father’s presence, light and eternal life. We can rest now.

John 14:6

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Luke 15:10

In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.

11 thoughts on “The Only Way

    • Donna, I loved how you summarized my post in 15 words! I have always heard that life here on earth is preparation for heaven. So I am not surprised at all the analogies we see in our lives… All pointing us to our glorious end (and eternal beginning) in heaven!

      Like

  1. I hope you enjoyed your trip Debbie and yes the get rich quick fix, it a shiny bait to despair.

    But in Christ Jesus no Temptation will be greater than we can bear, Jesus is our rest.

    Matthew 11:28 -30 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

    Christian Love Always- Anne

    Like

    • Anne, This trip was taken in February as a respite from the cold. Now, I am thinking that my husband and I need a trip to escape all the rain this June! And yes, I want more of Jesus’s yoke and His rest that He intends for us!

      Like

  2. Wishing you an amazing vacation in Naples, Florida my friend. Bring home lots of happy memories. Yes, our true journey is in heaven and our hearts should always remember and yearn for it every moment of everyday. It’s the best eternal vacation we all can have. God bless.

    Like

    • Island Traveler… We made the trip in February when we desperately needed a break from the cold and everything winter! 🙂 I have an older (and wiser) friend in Christ who commented that the older she gets, more and more of her treasure is in heaven. I loved that thought as the best inspiration for the hope God gives us for our eternal vacation in heaven!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

