My Knight in Shining Armor

Standard

I was a brand new engineer fresh out of school working for an automotive company. I carpooled twenty miles to work with two male co-workers. This particular week, it was my turn to drive. At the time, I was still driving my college car until I could save up enough money to buy a new car.

As we exited the freeway, my car died. Thankfully, I was able to safely coast the car to the side of the road. My co-workers hitched another ride to the plant. I was left alone on the side of the road with my broken-down car. Mind you, this was back in the mid-80’s before ubiquitous cell phones.

As despair was beginning to settle in, a third male co-worker recognized me and stopped to help. In his dress shirt and tie, he looked under the hood. Miracle of miracles, he figured out the problem and got my car running again. He was my knight in shining armor!

As for that knight in my life, that third co-worker, I ended up marrying him a couple of years later. To this day, he is still looking out for me and fixing my car.

I needed a knight in shining armor long before the car incident and long before I recognized my need for one. There have been many times that I was broken-down, alone and helpless. Jesus Christ, my Savior, found me and came alongside to give me the miracle of miracles: salvation through the forgiveness of my sins, the Holy Spirit inside of me to guide and the promise of eternal life in heaven.

How blessed am I to have two knights in shining armor in my life!

Psalm 42:11

Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

Isaiah 60:1

“Arise, shine, for your light has come, and the glory of the LORD rises upon you.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Knight in Shining Armor

  1. Oh, this would be a great scene in a movie. Love this story. We are blessed when we have the double protection of Christ and earthly husbands. Great reminder to count my double blessings.

    Like

    • Donna, When I wrote the first draft of this post, I ended it with, “How lucky am I to have two knights in shining armor in my life.” The more I thought about it, the more I realized that it was not luck. It is God’s design for us! I like how you worded it, “double blessings.”

      Like

      • This week my husband was gone on a fishing trip and I slept terribly! Every little noise, every time the dog’s ears perked up and looked toward the front door or window, well, I was a scaredy-cat! When Brian is home, I don’t have any thought of “boogie men” on Carriage Lane. Brian seemed to like it, in a way, when I told him that I missed him and didn’t sleep well. What he liked was my affirmation that he is needed and wanted in my life and that my life is simply better with him. He likes being the family protector and takes that role seriously. It is how we are wired. God provided special provisions of protection for women — that of our husbands. I don’t know why our culture finds that demeaning. I find it an incredible blessing.

        Like

        • Donna, It sounds like your husband is enjoying the retired life. (Fishing is the stereotypical picture of retirement!) I remember when my husband was working second shift. I thought for sure I would enjoy making my favorite meals and watching my favorite tv shows. Just the opposite happened. I missed my husband and hated being alone.

          Like

  2. Wow Debbie we are on the same page, I was rescued twice last week, our God of the impossible is indeed Awesome and even knowing we would mess up before we are Born Again and Perfected in Love, He still put us first, yes He knows those who are His and not one of us will be lost or He would not of chose us to be conformed into the image of Jesus, which we aim for with assurance we will make it.

    I will be Posting your Power Point early next week Debbie, it’s almost finished, as I shared on my Blog.

    Christian Love Always – Anne

    Like

    • Anne… You know, I was not a Christian when this story for my post occurred. However, I love that God brought it back to mind as a personal example of His rescue of me! You have been working hard. I am so looking forward to how you combined Snowdrops and Scriptures as your gift of Christian love to me!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

