The Highest Compliment

Standard

As a late bloomer in regards to writing, I am grateful for the encouragement to keep writing. Guest-blogging for a fellow writer is always a high honor, but not the highest compliment. Being asked by a friend, the editor of a quarterly magazine for a local newspaper, to submit an article is confirmation of my abilities. Seeing my name in print is still not the highest compliment. Retirees, needing a write-up on their volunteer activity, asked me to compose it. Their thank you was a gift card. Even being paid for my writing was not the highest compliment.

The highest compliment was my card propped up on a bedside table. I did not personally know this person who was a cancer patient in hospice. As part of the ministry Cancer Hope, I send cards with a message of Christ’s love. (Read my previous post on Cancer Hope.) I don’t remember what I wrote, but I know that the words were inspired by the Holy Spirit and prayed over before being mailed. After the woman died, I heard from a family member (in the ministry) that my card was near their loved one in her final days.

The highest compliment was that God chose me to write His words of comfort and to share His love. Evidence of the highest compliment was a simple homemade card that will be our special connection for all of eternity in heaven. Hearing God, being a vessel for God and touching lives will always be the highest compliment in my book.

2 Corinthians 4:7

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.

Psalm 126:5

Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy. He who goes out weeping, carrying seed to sow, will return with songs of joy, carrying sheaves with him.

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Highest Compliment

  1. Debbie,
    What a high compliment indeed! There’s a reason you love making cards so much. He is inspiring and encouraging you. Lovely that you were able to hear of the difference your card made to the recipient. It’s wonderful how God is using your talent for card-making, writing and prayer in so many ways.

    Like

    • Donna, I do LOVE making cards. Now, if I just attacked my “chores” with that same enthusiasm… More often, we don’t know the impact of what we do for God. Regardless, we trust God that He will bless our service to have eternal value!

      Like

  2. Debbie you have a wonderful gift of encouragement because you have a heart of Love for God and others , how wonderful also that you brought God’s Love and comfort to someone in their last days on earth, I rejoice with you.

    Thank you for your prayers for me and the girls that I was caring for, tonight Kasey whom I’m also looking after for a few Days, asked Jesus into her heart and so did Romaine , they both come to my Funday School, please pray for them as you are lead by The Holy Spirit, they both are part of Dysfunctional families and have known much unhappiness, Kasey has been Suicidal in the past but now Jesus will heal them like He did me, I’m so full of Joy for them as I shared with Patty, like you she is a prayer warrior for The Lord .

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Anne, How exciting for you (and the body of Christ and the angels in heaven!) that Kasey and Romaine received salvation. We know that salvation changes us from the inside out regardless of our circumstances. We will pray boldly that God changes their circumstances. Praying and believing!

      Like

  3. Hi Debbie – great post! We would love to have you be a guest blogger at Ruby for Women if you are interested. Just let me know. Also, we try to pray for all of our blogger friends on a daily basis, so please let us know how we can pray for you today. I hope you will stop back often and visit the Ruby for Women blog and be sure to let us know if you are interested in sharing a blog post with us. Have a great Monday! Nina @ Ruby for Women

    Like

    • Nina… Thank you for the kind words. And yes I would be interested to join you in encouraging women! When things slow down for me, I will contact you over on Ruby for Women.

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

