More Like a Weed or a Flower?

Standard

IMG_2874

Like a cowlick that refused to lie flat, they dotted our lawn with their clumps of dark green; Glory of the Snow. The flower I was so excited about last spring is the weed my husband now dreads. I have a difficult time thinking of them as weeds. For that time between the last gasp of winter and the fresh breath of spring, these plants were the only vivid green in our lawn. My husband feels differently. He dug up one of the plants to discover a handful of bulbs buried deep in the ground as if they were hanging on for dear life.

I reminded my husband that there would be pretty flowers to look forward to. In my heart, I knew that the flowers would never arrive. Soon the lawn will be mowed and everything will be trimmed to a uniform height. The Glory of the Snow with its innate drive for beauty will be stifled over and over again. Weed or flower?  The answer depends on who you ask.

This saga of the Glory of the Snow serves as a warning for walking out my faith.  As Christians, we are filled with potential backed by the promise of God. Sometimes, we don’t bear fruit because we plant in the spot of our choosing. It is not God’s place or purpose for us. Other times, we pour all our energy into something, but it never comes to fruition. It is not God’s timing or means for us.

As a growing Christian, my deepest desire is to be where God is planting me. I want to bear fruit for His glory. Is my Christian witness more like a weed or a flower in God’s garden? The answer depends on my obedience to God as the Master Gardener of my life.

Jeremiah 17:7-8

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

Isaiah 61:3

… They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor.

 

6 thoughts on “More Like a Weed or a Flower?

  1. Debbie you hit the nail on the head, it is very True, our Christian witness depends on our obedience to God as the Master Gardener of our lives but we still keep in mind that we will not always be appreciated for our witness but we will by those who know the Truth and live it, how can we know the difference, their flowers will be confirmed by God’s Truth even if some think they are weeds.

    Do you remember this message below about our Garden, it came from America so you may have read it although it has been adapted but not much, the second one is about the weeds…

    Our Garden – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2014/06/05/the-garden-of-our-heart/

    Weeds – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/does-our-garden-have-weeds/

    Christian Love – Anne

    Like

    • Anne, Your personality and heart for God shine through in your posts and adaptations. I checked out both links and posted comments there. 🙂 Gardening has so many spiritual applications! (By the way, I am still digging up wild onions. I spent more time yesterday on a beautiful Spring Saturday, but I didn’t mind!)

      Like

  2. Beautiful. I know you know this and may even have quoted it already but the second line is exactly your meditation:

    They will be called oaks of righteousness,
    a planting of the Lord
    for the display of his splendor.

    Like

    • Diana, Isaiah 61:1-3 is filled with wonderful promises! Thanks for pointing out another application of His Word to the theme I was trying to capture. In fact, I am going to go back and add it to my post. It is the perfect verse! 🙂

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

