The Prequel to Easter

Standard

IMG_2861

It was already mid-March when I discovered the single snowdrop, no bigger than the tip of my little finger. It was not what I imagined when I planted the bulbs last fall. There should have been a showy display of white debuting in February. My anticipation of hope was downsized by disappointment. This snowdrop was too little, too sparse and too late.

I recognized the feeling. Obstacles and frustrations in life tend to have the same effect on me. Hope wanes. Faith urges me to cling to the promise of hope despite that which is confirmed with the senses. Still, one lonely snowdrop encompassed the possibility for more flowers to appear. Even a little hope strengthens the resolve for more abundant hope in the present.

The Old Testament is filled with prophecy for the coming Messiah. In the New Testament, many did not recognize the Messiah when confronted with God’s hope. One of my favorite exceptions is the thief crucified with Jesus. His hope was waning as he was dying. Something deep inside stirred when he talked with Jesus. He experienced hope that defied the pain in his life. He believed that Hope existed and that he wasn’t beyond Hope’s reach. Jesus’s hope did not disappoint. Luke 23:42-43 is an excerpt of that beautiful story of hope leading to redemption. Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.” Jesus answered him, “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.”

The prequel to Easter is still hope. Jesus Christ on the cross was hope defined. Jesus Christ’s resurrection from the grave was hope understood. Jesus Christ in our hearts is Easter’s hope realized. Easter reveals that God’s Hope is never too little, too sparse or too late.

 

Psalm 33:22

Let thy mercy, O LORD, be upon us, according as we hope in thee. (King James Version.)

 

 

13 thoughts on “The Prequel to Easter

    • Diana, You captured the essence of hope! I have watched that snowdrop for the past several weeks. No more flowers have popped up, but I imagine that one snowdrop as a lone sentinel. For it has stood through heavy frosts and a dusting of snow (the last gasps of winter) that would have destroyed a more fragile flower!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ginene, Oh definitely! Without hope, how would we persevere through suffering and how could we overcome loss of loved ones. Don’t you think that joy and hope go hand in hand? Hebrews 12:2, “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So very True Debbie we have Hope that never lets us down we have Jesus, He is always Faithful, He is our Best Friend.

    I have created a few Power points about Hope but not with Snowdrops, would you like me to create one for you Debbie sometime this year, hopefully before July.

    Christian Love and many Blessings – Anne

    Like

    • Annie, How can I turn down an offer like that?!!! Yes, of course. But no pressure and no deadline, okay! I know you have lots going on in your life. I just hope I am smart enough (technologically) to post it! 🙂

      Like

      • Great Debbie, creating Power points gives me a lot of Joy, God often speaks to my heart, so you are blessing me too.

        What I do is Post the Power Point on my Blog with a link, let’s say to your Blog and a few words about you and how you have blessed me with you messages etc.

        You can download the Power Point from my Blog or I will send it to you by e-mail, your choice. Hope this is all OK with you.

        Blessings – Anne.

        Like

  2. A beautiful post my friend. Yes , Jesus is our hope for a life that is blessed with all things good and pure. He is our hope for salvation. He is our hope that we’ll find light in moments of darkness. That there is everlasting joy and peace. Thank you and I wish to remember this today, “Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.” Jesus answered him, “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.” a blessed Holy Week to you and your family.

    Like

    • Island Travler… Hope in Jesus is everything to us! That verse is one of my favorites. It was shared with me as the promise of heaven realized in THE MOMENT that we pass from our life here on earth. We are reassured through Jesus’s forgiveness that there is something better awaiting us in heaven’s paradise!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

