What’s Your Street Name?

Standard

Since we spent nine days in Naples, Florida, I became familiar with the street names. Street names can reveal the history of a town. For example, Collier Boulevard was named for Barron Collier, Sr., who was instrumental in building up Southwest Florida. Street names can define the connections between cities. I loved saying the Tamiami Trail (“tammy-ammy”), also known as U.S. 41 that links Tampa and Miami. Street names can carry warnings like the one I imagined with Rattlesnake Hammock Drive. Driving out of town on the way home, I discovered, The Lord’s Way. Now why didn’t I see that sooner?

What’s my street name? Which streets of life have left a mark on me? Who or what is the most influential in my life? Can people see that my life is linked to Jesus and the other end is in heaven? Or do people recognize warning signs that I am on the wrong road headed for destruction? Do people see The Lord’s Way in me? Or is my life simply an avenue for my own street parade? The streets we travel on reflect our destination. My prayer is that God continues to lead us home with signs of Jesus.

Matthew 7:13-14

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”

Isaiah 44:5

One will say, ‘I belong to the LORD’; another will call himself by the name of Jacob; still another will write on his hand, ‘The LORD’s,’ and will take the name Israel.

 

 

2 thoughts on “What’s Your Street Name?

  1. An interesting thought. The county road where I grew up in rural Indiana is called Jobe Road — named after my family. I always thought that was cool. Names are certainly important. The Lord took care to rename people in certain circumstances. This is something to think about.

    Like

    • Donna, What an extra special connection you have to your hometown (besides the obvious!) In Revelation, God tells us that as believers our name is eternal. Revelation 3:5 – “He who overcomes will, like them, be dressed in white. I will never blot out his name from the book of life, but will acknowledge his name before my Father and his angels.”

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

