“Huh? What Did you Say?”

Standard

My husband embarked on another big house project: adding insulation to the attic. My role was to be base camp. I was on call to find supplies, transfer equipment to the attic and respond to his requests. It sounds easy enough to do, but there was a hitch. To protect himself from loose, itchy fiberglass insulation, my husband donned protective gear including a respirator. Between the respirator, the exaggerated breathing (that you hear with a respirator) and the cell phone connection, I had a difficult time understanding his words. He was frustrated in having to repeat himself often. I was frustrated by the garbled words that I could not follow. We were set up to communicate. We wanted to communicate with each other, but there were barriers.

Thank goodness God removes all the barriers in our communication with him. God removed the barrier of sin. The sacrifice of Jesus on the cross enables us to draw close to God. God removed the barrier of misunderstanding. God gives us the Holy Spirit to prepare our hearts and minds for his revelation. God removed the barrier of misinformation. His holy word in the Bible is filled with story after story of how God desires communication with his creation. God removed the barrier of our human flaws and failings. We have a direct line of communication to God’s heart through the privilege of prayer. God speaks love into our lives. Are we listening? Are we holding onto his truth and refusing to let go? God understands our whispers, our shouts and our moans as we reach out to him with our answer.

 

Jeremiah 29:12-13

Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

 

Isaiah 65:24

Before they call I will answer; while they are still speaking I will hear. 

 

 

Thoughts on this post: share here!

