A Chocolate Connoisseur, I Am Not!

Standard

Although I didn’t have any plans to travel out of the country for Christmas, I bought a passport. A chocolate passport. It was advertised as a chocolate adventure for the taste buds. Ten bars of dark chocolate, single sourced from localities around the world. The descriptions were inviting with lines like, “Deep chocolate aroma with floral and fruit notes,” and, “Marked fruity taste with a touch of spice.” Teasers that filled me with anticipation. And oh the chocolate was wonderful. I savored each bite and concentrated on the undertones, the notes and the touches, but I didn’t get it. Maybe I am just a chocolate lover and not a chocolate connoisseur. It was not the first time that the finer things of life were lost on me. I remember when I first became interested in the Bible as an adult seeker. As with any good book, I started at the beginning. It was an exciting read with many story lines in Genesis and Exodus. Then I reached Leviticus with all the laws foreign to my senses. I was thrown for a loop as I simply didn’t get it. Fast-forward ten years in my relationship with the Lord. Now those same passages spoke volumes to my heart. I loved the foreshadowing of Jesus in the Old Testament. The connections between the Old and New Testaments reinforced God’s plan for mankind and for me. The difference was that I had the Holy Spirit inside of me. The Spirit that reveals the deeper truths. The Spirit that expresses faith with nuances. The Spirit that proves over and over how sweet our life is in God’s hands. .

Psalm 34:8

Taste and see that the LORD is good, blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.

Psalm 119:103

How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!

 

6 thoughts on “A Chocolate Connoisseur, I Am Not!

    • Mani, I certainly agree with you! BTW, I am amazed at your world travels perspective at age 25. I am in awe and get to travel with you as you share pictures. (Can you guess my favorite part of your blog?!) Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  1. I completely agree with you about the Holy Spirit. Before I used to read the Bible, and stay on the surface, not really understanding. Through the Holy Spirit I can dive into the scriptures and find treasures that I never knew. Thank you for visiting my blog also. It was an encouragement.

    Like

    • Tom, I have been a Christian for over 20 years and even now when I open my Bible, there is fresh revelation as if I was just reading it for the first time. It is the power of God’s word and the power of the Holy Spirit to open my heart to new truths for this season of my life! I expect treasure when I read my Bible. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

