Spiritual Lessons From a Safety Pin Angel

Standard

IMG_2441

The Christmas ornament made out of safety pins and beads caught my eye. I decided to copy the pattern and make my own to give out. If only it had ended up being that easy.

What I remembered as cheap plastic beads are now considered “fine jewelry.” I paid a premium for the right-sized beads to form the angel’s skirt. However, the holes in the beads were the wrong size for the safety pins. My search for the perfect match of craft supplies continued. I moved on to the halo. My middle-aged eyes and clumsy fingers struggled with threading the tiny gold beads onto the wire halo.

The cute angels had become a time-consuming, expensive, and frustrating project. At my lowest, I thought about giving up. That’s when the Holy Spirit provided the revelation needed to finish.

Use the resources available.I found bags of miscellaneous beads in my craft box stored in the garage.

Accept help. My mother-in-law cleaned out her craft stash and passed on beads that I could work in.

Dare to forge a new path. The angels wouldn’t look exactly like the original. Rather, the ornaments would reflect my touch.

Allow expectations to be changed. I had to accept that something different from what I envisioned was still worthy.

Persevere despite the circumstances. My sense of satisfaction was greater because I worked harder than I thought necessary or possible to reach the end goal.

Don’t lose sight of the why. My purpose in making the ornaments was to give them away and bless others. The why should fill me with joy that permeates every aspect of the process.

Angels made. Check. Spiritual lessons learned. Check. Who knew that so many spiritual lessons could come from a safety pin angel!

Psalm 91:11

For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways;

Hebrews 1:14

Are not all angels ministering spirits sent to serve those who will inherit salvation?

 

 

15 thoughts on “Spiritual Lessons From a Safety Pin Angel

  1. I love your list of lessons from this experience! I’m not sure I could have been as positive. But good for you that you kept at it and pulled so much out of what most would have though was just a craft project! ~ Sheila

    Like

    • Sheila, your comment really hit home. I asked my twenty something son what he thought about this post. He said I made a big deal out of nothing. 🙂 Anymore, I find that how I work through projects is how I (try to) approach life. There is a connection. Thanks for the affirmation!

      Like

    • Island Traveler… God does use angels! Hebrews 1:14 tells us, “Are not all angels ministering spirits sent to serve those who will inherit salvation?” Good to hear from you. And of course, warm wishes for God’s abundant blessings on your family in the New Year!

      Like

  2. Your Kindness is shown Debbie even in your Christmas giving, you wanted something Special for your family and friends and you preserved regardless of the difficulties.

    Angels never give up either they have a job to do and they do it well, I will share a link with you that shows how they carried me to safety when I was a Teenager, even though at the time I believed I came from an Ape because I had been deceived.

    Yes God knows those who are His even before we are conceived as the Scripture you shared confirms Debbie, He knows our Hearts and that we will repent showing we believe in Jesus as our Lord and Saviour and so He chooses us to be conformed into the image of Jesus and not one of us will be lost or we would not have been chosen.

    Teenager- https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/my-journey-continues-the-teenage-years/

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • The purpose of angels is a beautiful form of God’s protection for us!

      There seems to be a lot of confusion in the world about angels as I hear over and over that someone’s loved one who passed away just became an angel in heaven. Angels are beings created by God who can not procreate!

      Like

      • Very True Debbie, or you hear she is really an Angel sent by God in referring to someone they met whom they like, at first I thought they meant because they were kind etc but some do believe a human being can be a real Angel and will Teach them new Truths and some even Worship these beings who they claim to be Angels and so follow demonic teaching .

        But what you shared is True and confirmed in Scripture (see below) and it is why the books added to the Catholic Bible were not included in the Canonization of the accepted KJV Bible it was because they claim as well as other errors that Angels had sexual relations with woman and had Children by them but the Book of Jude, tells us whom they really committed sin with.

        1 Corinthians 15:38-40 But God giveth it a body as it hath pleased Him, and to every seed his own body. All flesh is not the same flesh: but there is one kind of flesh of Men, another flesh of beasts, another of fishes and another of birds. There is also Celestial bodies and bodies Terrestrial but the glory of the Celestial is one and the glory of the Terrestrial is another…(KJV)

        Note also there is no mention of Ex – Terrestrial beings but have you even known Debbie or read about a genuine case of an Animal having a Human Baby or a Human-being giving birth to an Animal, our D.N.A never changes it is why the Police use it to solve Murders and others to confirm Parentage.

        “Christ”ian Love Always from both of us – Anne.

        Like

    • Your comment brought these angel ornamtents to mind again! Like so many other things (and more important things in life), if I focus too much on the end result, I miss the whole point of enjoying the process! Thanks for the reminder.

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

