Anticipation is Making Me Wait

Standard

I knew it was coming. I dreaded the day. I acted like it couldn’t come if I kept doing the same things. Summer was ending and suddenly the hummingbirds were gone. The cooler nights and shortening days were the first signs. Still I was in denial. I made a big batch of nectar and looked for my hummingbird friends each day. Now they are nowhere in sight. I am filled with twinges of sorrow mixed with regret that just maybe I let their presence feel, oh too commonplace and expected. Life here on earth inevitably brings with it many changes. Oftentimes, I view change as a loss of something or someone. However, faith reminds me that God uses change for good: to mark seasons in our lives, to trust God with our futures and to direct us into God’s newness. Yes, the seasons are changing. I can’t control it or stop it. The joy in watching the hummingbirds is replaced with the anticipated explosion of fall colors, pulling out my favorite sweaters to wear and plans to bake familiar comfort foods. I know the hummingbirds will return. In the meantime, anticipation instills hope, enabling me to enjoy the present season.

Song of Songs 2:11-12

See!  The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land.

 

Acts 14:17

Yet he has not left himself without testimony: He has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; he provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy.

 

Thoughts on this post: share here!

