The View Outside My Window

Standard

IMG_2158

As I spend time in the kitchen, I enjoy the view outside my window. The hummingbirds entertain me with their flying antics. I am constantly surprised by the menagerie of visitors along the treeline: goldfinches with their splash of sunshine, one very big hawk, the scurrying squirrels, the groundhog that stayed for a little while and then moved on, the stray cat and the family of ducks. The fountain across the street is a relaxing sight and a relaxing sound on cool days when I open the window. I witness the colors change with the seasons from blooming flowers to ripening tomatoes. I experience beauty, peace and occasional humor from a distance. I find that I am content to watch as life happens outside my window. Sometimes, I live out my faith in the same manner. I am content to simply view life from my window onto the world. I encourage others. I rejoice over others’ victories in Christ. I live vicariously through their adventures of faith. I am content. But God did not purpose us to be simply observers of faith. We were created to own our personal adventures of trust with God. I am called to exercise my faith. To step outside of my comfort zone. To push aside self-imposed limitations and to grasp God’s possibilities.  For the view that God has for my life is up close and in action.

 

Psalm 16:11

You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

John 10:10

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life and have it to the full.

 

2 thoughts on “The View Outside My Window

  1. God is good, all the time. Sometimes, life gets hard and busy that we forget God is our light and salvation. That long before we were born, he knew us and knows the best path for us. May we always remember that he is there for us always. Thanks for sharing your view outside your window and for sharing God’s love for each one of us. God bless. Have a happy weekend.

    Like

    • Island Traveler… isn’t it interesting that when we need God the most (during tough and busy times) that that is when we tend to forget God and try to go it alone. Thank God for His steadfast presence in our life as He waits for us to return to His side and His heart. Thanks for stopping by. P.S. I am blessed by your blog with beautiful pictures that emphasize the importance of home, family and roots put down deep!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

