And I Pray!

Standard

I volunteer with a ministry that serves patients and their families throughout the cancer journey. I am one of many that pray. Texts are electronically transmitted. Spoken prayers transcend time and space. Cards are mailed. And I pray.

But it is not for the faint-hearted. For the names keep coming. Week after week, more cancer diagnoses are heard, more families are affected by cancer, and the list of people to minister to gets longer. And I pray. How do you share hope with someone receiving hospice care? How do you comfort someone feeling miserable from the side effects of treatment? How do you encourage someone who discovers that the cancer has returned? And I pray.

I have lost two prayer partners, cancer patients that I prayed for daily and corresponded with weekly. Their physical bodies succumbed to the cancer. Sometimes, my prayers seem to go unanswered. And still I pray. Prayers for healing. Prayers for peace. Prayers for salvation. Prayers for miracles. For people I may never meet, talk with, or give a hug to on this side of heaven. Yet, I pray for God has given us the privilege to ask in Jesus’s name. And I pray because I can.

Note: The wonderful ministry I referred to in this post is Cancer Hope, a ministry of SouthBrook Christian Church in Miamisburg, Ohio. Cancer Hope knows no bounds in sharing Christ’s love with individuals and their families going through cancer. Cancer Hope’s blessings are available for anyone regardless of residence or church affiliation. More information can be found at: http://www.southbrook.org/ministries/. Once there, click on Cancer Hope.

2 Corinthians 1:3-5

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows. 

2 Corinthians 1:10-11

He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us, as you help us by your prayers.  Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many. 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “And I Pray!

  1. Debbie, A few years ago I was in the beauty shop minding my own business and getting my hair done. A lady I didn’t know came in and told another about someone they both knew who had a grave illness; cancer if I recall correctly.

    The first lady said “Oh we know she will be healed. It’s just a matter if it is on this side or the other side.”

    I found that so very profound, comforting and something to cling to no matter what. This world is not our home. We will all leave it. We will all leave it with one illness or another at some point. Even if we are among the blessed few who die at 100 peacefully in their sleep.

    But the eternal perspective is that on the other side, if we are believers, we will wake up new and vibrant and happy and pain free and healed in His presence.

    So much of what you are doing in this ministry is preparing those who don’t know on which side they will be healed for that final journey. Or the delight in remaining on this worldly journey for a while longer.

    Like

    • Donna, Thanks for sharing your story and insight. Between my mom passing away (first real personal experience with death) and this ministry, I am beginning to change my perspective on death. I no longer fear it like I would have (did) in the past. At Pendleton Christian Church, we had a pastor who had two analogies about death and impending death that have stayed with me for 15 plus years now. “Death is the anesthetic to get into heaven.” And he would always say, “I am circling and getting ready to come in for a landing” in regards to his death. (He was in his 70’s or 80’s at that time. ) He had a great way of saying things and is now enjoying being in the physical presence of our LORD!

      Like

  2. Thank your for praying for the sick. Thank you for praying for their recovery, for strength , for healing, for courage, for miracles. Sometimes, just the thought that we are not alone and others are walking with us in our struggle gives comfort.

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

