Your English Teacher was Right!

Standard

Choice of words matter. For one little word can change the meaning of an entire sentence. Your English teacher was right!

It was an unexpected question, directed at me and the person I was with. “Do you know Jesus?” I didn’t have to think about my answer. I have no doubt about who Jesus is to me. He is my LORD and Savior. So my answer was “Yes, I know Jesus.”

The other person hesitated a moment and carefully responded, “I know of Jesus.” That one extra word, “Of,” makes all the difference. Most people in the U.S. have heard of Jesus. But do you really know him? Do you have a genuine relationship with Jesus? Are you confident of your standing in heaven? Do you know peace that transcends all understanding and every crisis? Are you excited about your future?

It is possible. It begins by saying “Yes” to Jesus, followed by the commitment to get to know Jesus better. “I know Jesus” is so much better than simply, “I know of Jesus.”

 

Zechariah 14:9

The LORD will be king over the whole earth. On that day there will be one LORD, and his name the only name.

 

John 16:31

But these are written that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name. 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Your English Teacher was Right!

Thoughts on this post: share here!

