What Does Your Box Hold?

Standard

It was a lofty goal, but I managed to stick to it. Before I packed away any box again, I sorted it. There have been many boxes to go through as we settle into our new house. I have rediscovered the missing and the forgotten. I have been surprised by the memories contained in those boxes. In the process, I have learned more about who I was at different stages of my growing up years. Here’s a sample peek at a young Debbie of elementary age:

1)      I used to write my name backwards. (Must have been a “leftie” thing! And it is a trick that I can still do today!)

2)      I loved Paul R., the boy next door, but he did not love me back.

3)      I loved hockey even more than the neighbor boy. (Who has a scrapbook for hockey? Who keeps hockey pucks as mementos? I did!)

4)      I wasn’t always so good at math. (I’ll have to pitch that quiz!)

5)      I have always loved dessert. (My diary reads like a tally of desserts enjoyed!)

What does my life today reveal to others? What do my priorities say about my character? Do my actions demonstrate that I care more about people than stuff? Most importantly, am I creating new memories that celebrate God’s goodness in my life? If my life was a box to store memories, what would it hold? Would it be overflowing the top and sides bulging with extra tape needed to hold it all in? It should be for God blesses in abundance.

 

 1 Thessalonians 3:6

But Timothy has just now come to us from you and has brought good news about your faith and love. He has told us that you always have pleasant memories of us and that you long to see us, just as we also long to see you.

 

Philemon 6

I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Does Your Box Hold?

  1. There have been times during a busy week when I need to work on my small-group or Bible Study Fellowship lesson and feel annoyed that someone I know has a need calling me away from my study. Then I think: Wait! What good is all the study if I don’t inconvenience myself to care for someone who needs my help? I’m not proud of that admission but there it is. Life is a constant evaluation of priorities and recognizing where we are called to serve.

    Like

  2. Donna, been there and done that. I have even been called on it by non-Christians. That was a hard lesson learned because I was the one who was supposed to love others at all costs. You are right, serving others always requires some sort of sacrifice on our part. Our heart for serving others is a reflection of Christ’s sacrifice being worked out in our lives. I am still learning this!

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

