The Man Upstairs

Standard

I heard the man upstairs loud and clear. I knew what area he was working on by the noise in my life. We were getting a new roof installed. It was loud. The house rattled as the shingles came off and new ones were hammered into place. It was messy. Scraps of tar paper rained into the yard and nails played hide and seek in the landscape. There were circumstances beyond our control. Questionable weather, impending rain and unrelenting wind hampered the work. Periodically, I walked around the house. I wanted to see the progress resulting from all the disruptions in our life. It took longer than we thought or had hoped for. But finally, after many starts and stops, our new roof was in place. Worrying about missing shingles and fearing every rainstorm was lifted.  The roofer provided a beautiful new roof that I can enjoy today. More importantly, every day the man upstairs restores peace where we desperately need it.

 

Psalm 29:11

The LORD gives strength to his people; the LORD blesses his people with peace. 

 

1 Corinthians 14:33

For God is not a God of disorder but of peace.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Man Upstairs

  1. Debbie, you have a beautiful gift for relating the “everyday experience” back to God’s provision, instruction and relationship with us. Love how the Lord provides just the right scriptures for our every need and situation … and you have a gift for recognizing them.

    Like

    • Donna, Thanks for your kind words. I have to admit that I get so excited when God speaks to me through those every day (and for me, usually mundane) experiences. I am reminded that God is involved in every aspect of my life and is speaking to me personally. The opportunity to share what I have learned (and hopefully) encourage others is simply icing on the cake!

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

