I Just Want to Plant Snowdrops

Standard

Our new house has been more than we bargained for: in a negative sense. More problems to fix than expected. More money needed than expected. More time than expected. Like every homeowner’s lament, the to-do list is long. Personally, it has been a dark season in my faith. But I have learned a few things along the way. Our approach to difficulties matters. My husband’s approach is to tackle (just about) any house repair. He researches Do-It-Yourself projects online and browses local home improvement stores. I love his “can do” attitude. My youngest son is enthusiastic to take on new projects. There is a palpable excitement to jump in, get his hands dirty and make it happen. I love his “let’s get started” attitude. As for me, I just want to plant snowdrops in the landscape. I need the reminder that God can and will bless us in every situation. To expect to be blessed in this house and believe it today in anticipation of those blessings. Once I got the whining and the pity party out of my system, my attitude has been to be an encourager, to recognize the progress and to share the vision of home sweet home.

Romans 5:3-5

Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us. 

I Peter 1:6-9

In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while, if need be, you have been grieved by various trials, that the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold that perishes, though it is tested by fire, may be found to praise, honor, and glory at the revelation of Jesus Christ, whom having not seen you love. Though now you do not see Him, yet believing, you rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory, receiving the end of your faith – the salvation of your souls.

 

4 thoughts on “I Just Want to Plant Snowdrops

  1. Debbie, I know just how you feel! I’ve had some housing situations that didn’t turn out like I thought they would. In fact, I’m in a similar situation now, not with a remodel, but with a home that I would like to sell, and haven’t been able to (yet!) But you’ll get through it, and in the end it will be a blessing, I’m sure of that! Hope you enjoy planting and making your house a home! ~ Sheila

    Like

  2. Sheila, Thank you for the encouragement. A long time ago, I saw a bumper sticker on a semi-truck that “shouted” to me: Attitude determines altitude. I have really had to ask God to help me with my attitude towards the house. You are right, it is getting better, and I am seeing the blessings of good neighbors and a home (again after apartment living for 6 months) for family celebrations. Good luck and prayers for your house selling (and the what’s next!) Waiting is the hard part!

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

