The Question That Should Have Offended

Standard

A dear friend from church put his arm around me and with no other introduction than a big smile on his face, asked, “Do you or your husband need the name of a good divorce attorney?” Maybe I should have been offended by his question, but I knew exactly what he was referring to. My husband and I bought a “new” old house with lots of projects.  We are trying to do most of the work ourselves which can result in some very long and tense days at the house. How did my friend know? The answer can be found in his marriage of fifty years plus and “been there, done that” type of life experiences.  Oh how I needed the reminder that my husband and I will get through this. His smile also spoke volumes about his marriage. A sense of humor and laughter is required for a long-lasting marriage. Still, I detected more: joy in their shared stories and joy in each other’s presence that grows with the passing years. At only 26 years of marriage, my husband and I have some catching up to do. The house projects will fade and become another memory in our shared history. In the meantime, I will find a reason to laugh with my husband.

 

Job 8:21

He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.

 

Thoughts on this post: share here!