Who Are You Gonna Listen To?

Standard

Some of the biggest arguments with my husband are in the car when we are trying to decide whether or not to follow the G.P.S.’s guidance. Especially, if we are in unfamiliar territory. Especially, if it doesn’t synch up with the verbal directions given by a local. I’ll comment that the way we’re going doesn’t look right.  Or that I don’t understand where the G.P.S. is taking us.  My husband’s retort is, “Make up your mind, trust the G.P.S. or turn it off.” Sometimes faith can feel like that too. Do we trust God to get us to our destination? Do we proceed with confidence even when we don’t recognize the milestones along the way? Do we follow God taking every directed turn? We have a choice to make. It is not easy to trust an electronic gadget that speaks in monotones and fits in my hands. God keeps encouraging me to trust in him because my life is in his hands. In his big, capable, safe, tender and real hands.

 

Isaiah 30:21

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” 

Psalm 25:4-5

Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Who Are You Gonna Listen To?

  1. Tom (as in cousin, not husband)… Thanks for the blog idea about the G.P.S. Of course, I could have gone in a lot of directions and one of the obvious that I didn’t incorporate here is God’s G.P.S. is the Bible and the Holy Spirit. I wrote this a while back and I think it speaks to one of the challenges in living out faith.

    Like

  2. Joe Shutts

    Debbie,

    Awesome post. I can really relate since we just got back yesterday from a trip to Washington D.C. with the kids. On the way out of town the GPS turned us all around and we had to turn it off and start over. Eventually we got back on the right path and home safe and sound. I’m glad to hear that me and Holly are not the only ones who bicker about GPS and directions (lol). Thanks for sharing!

    Pastor Joe

    http://www.newfc.org

    Face book small 1

    Joe Shutts, M.Th.

    New Freedom Church

    15 E. Warren St.

    Lebanon Oh. 45036

    513-932-9600

    NFC logo

    Like

  3. Pastor Joe… Yes, real life! The last time I was in DC was Spring 2011, just in time for the cherry blossoms at their peak. It was beautiful. I really enjoyed DC. It was easy to get around once I figured out the Metro. Just about everything was free to see. Although Ben and I paid $5 each to see a Lego display (replicating famous architecture!) I trust you and family had a great trip!

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

