You’re It!

Standard

I am being pursued.  I recognize the pursuit when I open my mailbox, for there it is: prescreened offers for credit cards. I don’t want it, but the invitations keep coming.  I call and I write to stop the solicitations for extra credit that I don’t need.  It is not the first time that I have been relentlessly pursued. God pursued me for 31 years. I didn’t want it. I was too busy with schooling, then a career and then a family.  I didn’t think I needed it. Life was okay and even good. God kept pursuing me until I allowed myself to be caught. I felt God’s embrace and leaned into him. I began to understand the big picture of what God offered and I wanted it. More importantly, I needed it.  The pursuit is not over, but now I am “it.” I pursue God to know his will for my life. I pursue God’s Word to draw closer to him. I pursue others to introduce them to Jesus. The pursuit for hearts continues.

 

Jeremiah 29:13

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Isaiah 43:1

But now, this is what the LORD says- he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

2 thoughts on “You’re It!

  1. Debbie, scrolling through posts in your blog, I found this line: “God is more interested in my future with him than in my past without him.” Love this! I “grew up” in church faith and attendance, but often I have felt that my real journey started long after I was an adult. I appreciate the perspective you have on this subject. Perfect! ~ Sheila

    Like

    • Sheila, The Bible teaches that guilt and shame are left at the cross. I know that, but I don’t always “feel” that. The point you picked out is the reminder to myself that each day is truly a fresh start with God.

      Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

