Snowdrops from God’s Heart

Standard
Snowdrops: The Inspiration

Snowdrops: The Inspiration

Snowdrops from God’s Heart: Why this particular title?  And what are snowdrops anyway?  And is this going to be one of those in-your-face religious babbles.  The easy question first.  I had never heard of snowdrops until several years back. I was going through treatments for breast cancer when my dear friend Carol presented me with a sandwich bag-sized surprise. Inside were three stems of a little flower with graceful white petals and a delicate fragrance.

Snowdrops are flowers that peek through the snow before the crocuses, daffodils and hyacinths to and remind us of spring’s promise. New life, new beauty and new joy is coming.  Those flowers became a symbol of hope in the winter of my cancer season. Now that I am past the cancer, snowdrops are my prompt to look for the blessings that God has for me in every situation, good and bad.

As for the second question: yes, this is a blog about faith in Jesus Christ. I believe that I am a sinner.  (I don’t have to state that fact for my family and close friends. They know it and see it.) But thank God that I am a redeemed sinner, saved by Jesus Christ’s perfect sacrifice on the cross. Since Jesus was raised from the dead, my life can and does have divine purpose for divine good. My intent is not to be judgmentally religious. Instead, I want my blog to be a journey of being real about the victories, the struggles, and the fun of living out faith.

Let’s encourage one another and enjoy the unique adventure that God has in store for us. I hope you will stick around.

1 Peter 3:15

But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.  But do this with gentleness and respect.

18 thoughts on “Snowdrops from God’s Heart

  1. I will stick around. I can’t remember the last time I saw you but remembered that you had become a Christian. I have wondered over the years if you were still following Jesus. So glad to see that you are. Blessings to you and yours. Your cousin Bill.

    Like

    • Welcome Bill! I have been a follower of Jesus for 20 years now. Regardless, I am still learning every day what it means to be a Christian. This blog is an opportunity to share that wonderful and sometimes painful growth! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Lynn… You made it over here to my blog and posted a comment! And now you know what snowdrops are- unexpected flowers in late winter. By the way, to make it easy, you can “subscribe” through e-mail and get posts that way. (My goal is to post once per week.)

    Like

  3. Hi, Debbie. I’d never heard of Snowdrops before…how awesome! Your will and your faith are so admirable considering all you’ve been through. But sometimes that’s all we have, right? Thanks for visiting my blog today! 🙂

    Like

    • Magnet for Foolishness, Snowdrops have become my theme for life. Whenever I am going through a difficult time, I look for the “snowdrops”‘; the unexpected blessing and joy that God desires to give us through that struggle.

      Like

    • Thanks for visiting! As part of the Blogging 201 homework, I have been trying to figure out how to incorporate more pictures (of snowdrops) into this theme. I took this picture of snowdrops, but more talented photographers have far more beautiful pictures of snowdrops in their native settings. It takes my breath away!

      Like

  4. Hi Debbie, thanks so much for visiting our blog–it gave us a chance to meet you! I love the analogy of snowdrops and unexpected blessings, and it’s good to know that kind of snowdrop can appear in any season!

    Like

  5. God is our loving healer. I’m glad to know you are passed cancer and now healed. Beautiful inspiring snow drops of hope and new beginnings. I’ve sin so many times and felt surrounded by endless snow but somehow a God hasn’t given up on me yet, and every now and then snowdrops blooms, giving me hope and second chances. Thanks for sharing. All the best to you & family.

    Like

Thoughts on this post: share here!

